Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ok, so I got another question still

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by solowookie, Sep 5, 2001.

  1. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    OK, what exactly does a rev limiter do??? I am assuming that in some way it limits how high the RPM's can go... is this true???

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  2. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    You got it man. It electronically stops your engine from reving beyond a certain point...usually decided by plug in modules. More for drag cars, but they can come in handy in a truck too.

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     
  3. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Yep, what most rev limiters do is cut the spark to a couple of cylinders at a certain RPM...Dan

    If it ain't broke.......Don't fix it....
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Gokartergo>KLICK</a>
     
  4. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    well the reason that I am asking is when my tranny was going out it was shifting into lower gears at RPM's that were way to high... it was spiking my engine, and with a rebuilt engine in there I'm planning on doing something to control that.

    I was kinda looking at the crane fireball that comes with rev limiter &amp; coil... I'm kinda wondering if the 'rev limiter' as the docs say is really a rev limiter, or something to retard the timing etc... I'm gonna call crane and see what they've got to say.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  5. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    I now that in the ones like for NASCAR. It shuts down spark...There might be diffrent kinds...Dan

    If it ain't broke.......Don't fix it....
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Gokartergo>KLICK</a>
     
  6. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    yea there probably are different kinds... I definately want something that will shut things down where I want them... I'm gonna have to find a solution, but it isn't too aweful critical for now (gotta get the thing back on the road first... [​IMG])

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  7. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I was just sitting here going through my summit racing catalog, &amp; they have an accel kit with coil &amp; ignition, and the advertise it as having an <blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

    'intelligent' rev limiting which lets you dial in top RPM without installing chips

    <hr></blockquote>

    man I had an accel coil and that thing really kicked butt... I'm gonna check out the crane system and if I don't quite like it then this sounds like a good solution.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  8. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Being that your an off roader you might want to consider the MSD 6 Offroad Box. It is totally water proof and vibration proof. It has a rev limiter box that you can buy seperate too. It's more expensive, but it and it connections are waterproof. I have the box in my Jimmy and I love it.
     
  9. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I would think that is an awesome idea except I got 2 k5's, and the one I am concerned about is my on-road one so I don't know how much those features would really help me... [​IMG]

    yea you're right I got the addiction bad!! LOL

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  10. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    The MSD 6A box has a built in rev limiter, and there is an ajustachip that you can program to any RPM. The 6A box is cheaper than the Offroad, and I think the chip is $25. The box and chip will be on Jegs, or Summits website for exact prices.
     
  11. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    well I already got the 6a box (was going to put in the Insane Ewok) &amp; put something else in this one... would appreciate it if you would elaborate on this chip you are referring to, and how the install goes???

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  12. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    The Accel kit looks really impressive, particularly the fact that it is a direct plug-in installation - I hate cutting into wiring harnesses on later models.

    1 tequila 2 tequila 3 tequila Floor
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  13. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    oh I tell ya what I really have something against cutting into wires if I do not have to... must be something out my industry (voice telecom) &amp; wiring high capacity digital circuits...

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  14. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    From what I read on it the chip is a replacement for the MSD chips. It looks like the MSD chips and plugs in to the same spot except that this chip is ajustable to different RPM's that way if you need to change the RPM limit you don't have to go buy more MSD chips. If you don't plan on changing the RPM limits on your truck it probably wouldn't be worth the money. The Jeg's or Summit website would probably have more info on the chip for you too.
     
  15. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    I've avoided late model harnesses ever since I spliced a 3rd brakelight into my 92 F150, and somehow added just enough resistance to have a never-ending trouble code from the ABS.

    1 tequila 2 tequila 3 tequila Floor
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  16. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    hey thanks again for the info! I'll have to call and find out some details and maybe get one on order! could be exactly what I am looking for &amp; have a lot more reasonable price [​IMG] then the other options I was considering.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  17. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    [​IMG] LOL... man one of those 'hard' lessons??? hey I'm really good at those! (exampe, recent fire experience [​IMG][​IMG])

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  18. Jason73K5

    Jason73K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca
    The Crane setup is a real rev-limiter, I used to have a HI-6 and you just set the RPMs and thats where it stopped it. Be careful wiring these things up, mine died a premature death due to a bit of jury-rigging on my part.

    73K-5: TBI350/TH-400/NP-203/14FF/D44
    Topless, doorless and no tailgate!
    Fresno, CA
     
  19. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    GO WITH THE MSD 6AL. That is the one with rev limiter. The crane ones are junk. The shop I work at use to sell them for about 6 months. Every one we sold came back within 6 months because it was acting up, or the rev limiter didnt work. Alot of guys floated their valves from it. (Thats caused by over revving). We returned them to Crane, sold them the 6AL box, and no complaints yet. I run one in my firebird. I bounce it off the rev limiter all the time comming out of the burnout box. I have a 6000 rpm chip in it, and it limits between 6000 and 6100. BUY ONE, they are 172.95 in Summit.

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs Other cars 69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  20. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    hey thanks for the info... you know anything about the accel system??? that system kinda intrigues me, but I definately hear ya about the reliability of the MDS'... just want to explore my options...

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     

Share This Page