Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

okay i need to know

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by DUKE, May 31, 2002.

1. DUKE

DUKE 1/2 ton status

Ive never thought about it before and i do not know how the gearing in the axle works. I have the original axles so how do i know whats in them? what does that really mean? sorry im so clueless

2. bryguy00b

bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

the gearing...is the gear ratio that runs in the axls in the differential..now befor i go farther..im 16 and im not an expert either just tellin what i know! lol..but the gearing you should be able to find out by looking in your glove box..right on the door..should say..mine are 3.73..that would work good for up to like 33" tires..the bigger the tires you have the lower the gears you want..(higher the number)..higher the gears..lower the number..get it? lol...

Bryan

3. 91K5

91K5 1/2 ton status