Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

old engine new parts???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by suburban n progress, Oct 17, 2005.

1. suburban n progress

suburban n progress Registered Member

Okay well im still kinda new to this site but have some questions.. I have me an 86 suburban with 10b/14bff 12'' of lift way over clearing 42's 4.10s front and rear open axles.. oh yeah i have a sm465 and motor is bone stock still has its smog pump..Truck was bone stock when i got it but had 10 bolts front and rear then i started lifting changing etc..

I just ordered some hooker headers and have 3'' flowmaster mufflers, I put in a k&n filter and tune up and brought it back to a little life..the motor has originally 152xxx miles on it and runs awsome..first start crank choke holds warms up runs great no problems.. MY buddy was diggin through his garage and came across his NEW never used edlebrok 750 4 barrel carb said i could basically have it for a weekend worth of truck fixin.. Im assumed id need a new intake manifold to match that kind of a carb and with headers getting rid of the smog pump and probably going to electric fan that should free up some gas thirsty ponies right!! BUT at what expense..is that much air and fuel gonna burn out or cause problems on the stock engine..Will it need a new cam?? New heads???? 4x4 drive train wise i got it and understand it...when ya dig into a motor im lost...Anyhelp would be great. I figured id just go with the headers and electric fan since thats not gonna **** anythin up to much..oh yeah its a sbc 350 4 bolt main i believe. Thanks and sorry for the long run on..

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

That much lift , 10 bolt front , and 42's .....hmmmm . So its obviously a show rig , right ?