Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

on board air

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bigjim321, Jan 23, 2001.

  1. bigjim321

    bigjim321 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2000
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas/Tx
    i have finally obtained the infamous "york long stroke compressor" and a air tank from an 18 wheeler. does any one have any info on wiring a pressure valve to the compressor?
    attempting to avoid making a explosion under my hood.

    Lack of mud makes a man mean!!
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,180
    Likes Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Check out "4 Wheel & Off-Road", Jan 2001 issue. There is a great article in their about installing an on board air system using a York pump. The article starts on page 94 and a schematic is on page 99.

    Rene

    [​IMG]
     
  3. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Is this York compressor engine driven?

    <font color=orange>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  4. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Try this http://www.burt4x4.coloradok5.com
     
  5. BigJohnson

    BigJohnson 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AL
  6. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    cool here is one more http://www.jedi.com/obiwan/jeep/yorkair.html
    http://www.burt4x4.coloradok5.com
     
  7. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    frank yes it is engine driven

    s.smith 77blazer lookin 4 mud
     
  8. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    how are you going to mount the york? I been hoping to find a car in the junkyard with aftermarket A/C but no luck. I got the factory Fidgidair and it can be done but they don't last long.

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/>http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/</A>
     
  9. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,180
    Likes Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Hey Grim, from what I've heard the Yorks were OEM for Volvo's and AMC products up to about '84 I think. Hope that helps your seach.

    Rene

    [​IMG]
     
  10. blazer72

    blazer72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    I found one off a 73 F*&^ that was new! after looking hard at were to mount it and how drive it.

    I'm driving it off the crank and mounting itoff the right frame rail! With 7 polly mounts holding my moutor/trany/tcases in the frame flexes more than the mounts move! If the belt wont stay on I'll ad a sping loaded pully to help out.

    The hard part is trying to find a place to mount the air tank! With the motor oil cooler, winch, 2 batterys, dubler 45 gal fuel tank I'm out of places to mount things!

    I understand the jeep thing I drive a BLAZER!!

    Ken
     
  11. BlazerBoy

    BlazerBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago IL.
    Where were you able to find the air tank from an 18 wheeler?? I have thought of getting one, because they are the perfect size but have had no luck finding one...

    BlazerBoy
    http://generalblueballs.coloradok5.com
     
  12. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Getting the york isn't the problem. Getting brackets to fit a york on a GM V8 is. GM used a frigidair rotory compresor on everything. I have one bolted to my truck but they do not last long as a air compressor because they are not internaly lubricated like the york. They depend on lubricant in the freon to survive and that won't be there. Most tool lubricators won't work as suction they are designed to be run under pressure.
    Somebody said mount it on the frame rail....noooooo that won't work. Have a bud stand on the brakes put your truck in gear an watch the engine when they goose it. Compressor has to be mounted to the engine if you plan to drive it off the crank.
    I looked at a few hot rods with vintage air aftermarket A/C and they all seem to run either a stock GM unit or these new units that are still rotory.
    I have my tanks on my truck already but been putting off converting the stock unit for the above reasons. My bud has his converted and tells me he has to replace the compressor about once a year. He has been dumping mineral oil into the intake trying to get them to live longer. My tanks hold enough air to get me close to street pressure so I haven't been real worried about it yet but it is moving up the list of mods as others get completed. I have a PTO drive for my transfer case and I may just run a york off that and forget the electric cycle switch and just let a blow off valve regulate the pressure. It will be loud as hell but it would work.

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/>http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/</A>
     
  13. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Hey Grim, what ya usin for a tank?
    Any pics?
    I too was thinkin of just starting off with a tank under the rear somewere that I could fill up with air before I head out!
    What size you got that will get all 4 tires up to street psi or close to it?
    Thanks


    72K5[​IMG]Led Zeppelin[​IMG]Rock ON![​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.burt4x4.coloradok5.com>http://www.burt4x4.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  14. Butch

    Butch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2000
    Posts:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Hey Grim have you looked at old International Scouts for the york compressor. That is where mine is coming from. How to attach and Where to get a belt from is a whole other issue though.

    I thought I was wrong once,
    but I was mistaken
     
  15. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    My Nurfs are my tanks. They hold 8 gallons of water between the two but not sure how many gallons of air. Apperently air gallons on a tank is not the same a liquid gallons. Example. My 40 gallon hot water heater stands 5ft tall and 22 inches in diameter. My 30 gallon air compressor tank is about the size of two 5 gallon buckets end to end. Near as I can tell air tanks are rated how many gallons of air at atmospheric pressure will fit into the tank at the tank's rated psi. Seems that compressed air at about 100psi looses 2/3's it's uncompressed volume. So my guess on my tanks is I hold about 22-24 gallons of air.
    I run about 20 psi on the trail and with my tanks aired to 140psi (got a killer air line at the gas station close to home cause I can only get 115 psi off my compressor) I can get all 4 tires up to 33-34 psi. I usualy run 38front 36 rear on the street (my tires are rated 50psi 32 inch BFG's).
    Some pictures in the mods section of my page...link is in my sig.

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/>http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/</A>
     
  16. blazer72

    blazer72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    Inland truck has the tanks for about 50 each as for mountting to the frame I repete I HAVE 7 POLLY MOUNTS one of which mounts the 205 to the frame rail. That and use a spring loaded tenioner pully. As for th motor moving a round yes it does if I put every thing in low (102 to 1) and stand on the brakes hte motor rolls to the right about an 1/4 of an inch which will tend to losen the drive belt. but with the spring loaded pully on the cost side of the belt the tension will stay!

    I understand the jeep thing I drive a BLAZER!!

    Ken
     

Share This Page