Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

??? On Dana 60 Swap and Sway Bar

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BrianDamage, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. BrianDamage

    BrianDamage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    well, finally got my K5 pulled in the shop and yanked the stock rear end out last night. I've had my 14 ff and dana 60 for nearly a year now....but with moving and everything, just now able to get started.

    anyways I was noticing on the stock front axle that the sway bolts to the stock spring plates on each side. should I have bought stock dana 60 springplates if I had wanted to attach my sway bar (I'm assuming they are similar to the ones on the 10 bolt, just bigger?)....I have the DYI4x4 plates now, but I would really like to have my sway bar hooked up. I'm not going to be doing anything that would require having it unhooked
     
  2. atho

    atho 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wayne County, Ohio
    Then why don't you sell your 60 for a profit and go back to whatever axle you had before.
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,542
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    do you have a 4" or bigger lift? if so you dont need that limiting bar.
     
  4. BrianDamage

    BrianDamage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    why don't you actually answer my question, or not post?
     
  5. BrianDamage

    BrianDamage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    planning on a 6" lift and 35's
     
  6. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,542
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    lift springs are much stiffer than stock. and with positive arch for lift the body roll will be a lot less than before. most say taking it out even on street only lifted trucks makes it ride better.

    search for sway bar and you will find lots of good info on hear.
     
  7. ssped

    ssped 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo
    Lift it and 86 the sway bar. I am running 6" springs and taking the say bar off made it handle bumps... better. I dont even notice it is not there in the turns.
     
  8. 58 apache

    58 apache 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    clarksville,Va home of the body bag
  9. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yes, you will need stock style plates to mount it. They are just like the 10 bolt only bigger.
     
  10. BrianDamage

    BrianDamage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama

    sweet truck :D

    yeah I was a little worried about loosing it....some of the places I go to hunt are so curvy they could be used for a sportscar commericial :( which I don't ever drive that fast, but still didn't want to have and try to react in an emergency situation and go off the road

    being that I'm not doing any rock crawling or anything, I didn't think I needed to 86 the sway bar....

    I guess when I get my new springs, I can try it like I have it set up, and if for some reason I don't like it I can try to find some of the stcok spring perches
     
  11. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,542
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    i see plates on evil bay from time to time. i think 2-3 sets on now.
     
  12. FoolSizeK5

    FoolSizeK5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grovetown Ga
    I wouldn't worry about it.

    I have a 85 i've run without the sway-bar for over a year. Recently decided to make that one my dd kinda like driving the Vortec around on the road. I've only got 4" of lift though. I put the sway bar back on a couple of months ago just to help remind me not to take it back on the rocks. But i didn't notice any change from off to on while driving it on the street. But it's just my opinion. Just hope i can get 73 built with an S10 cab 60 and 14ff with ORD doubler before i take the sway bar back off to go play.
     

Share This Page