Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

onboard air? options suggestions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sandracer0004, Jul 7, 2003.

  1. sandracer0004

    sandracer0004 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ok guys i just got back from pismo, and realize how badly i need onboard air, i frekin hate waiting at the gas station! burb goes any where aired down with out even using 4wheel drive.

    I wanna keep my ac compressor but thought about going to a junk yard and grabbing a second one and using it. Thats what my buddy uses. ? I wanna be able to run air tools as well? ran my air ratchet off my buddies. any suggestions???
     
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    CO2 tank... yeah, the gas supply is limited by the tanks size, but it'll work even when ur engine isnt running. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif Good for reseating beads too.

    j
     
  3. FRIZZLEFRY

    FRIZZLEFRY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Posts:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Clovis CA
    Yup,CO2 /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif I have a 20lb bottle and you can air up alot of tires and run air tools alot off of one bottle
     
  4. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    yikes, 20 lb.. thats the big dog. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif I have a 10 and am pondering runnin a 15... 15 seems like just about the right size..

    j
     
  5. XtrmChevy

    XtrmChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland, Europe
    I put a chrysler v2 ac-kompressor in order to use the ARB and it seems to be much faster than the original I used. I have not tried to use any tools with it but it has its own lubrication too.
     
  6. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    how do you fill the tanks? with a home compressor? would a gas station one work?
     
  7. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    welding supply places are always good. Costs around $8 to get mine filled.

    j
     
  8. morphed86k10

    morphed86k10 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno Nevada
    I just got a CO2 setup for the reason you mentioned, airing up at gas stations sucks. CO2 is pretty fast, easily tranferrable (in case you are going with a buddy you can take your tank to seat/fill his tires) simple, and not too expensive considering how fast it is.
     
  9. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    Do you guys have your CO2 tanks mounted or do you just throw it in the truck before you go?
     
  10. TK5

    TK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fairview , Tennessee
    I have 6 Co2 tanks that I have had for sale for $35 plus shipping. Get your own gauges and line your ready to go.

    I know this is the wrong place to post, but what the heck Co2 is the way to go.
     
  11. morphed86k10

    morphed86k10 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno Nevada
    Since I just got it last week I just throw it in, but I'm planning on making a hard mount that bolts it securly.
     

Share This Page