Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

One wire Alternater question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BobK, Jun 26, 2001.

  1. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Posted this on the 1st gen boared but I thought I'd post it here too.
    Just bought a 140 amp 1 wire alt.for my 71 Blazer.I understand that you connect the alt. directly to the battery but what about the other 2 wires that came off the alt. Will the volt meter still work with the 1 wire alt?Can you just "tape off" the other 2 wires?
    I currently have a internally regulated 10SI model.It has the wireing kit that converts over from the external regulater.
    I've recently added dual electric fans and along with the demand of the G.M. TPI fuel injection,stereo,Hella driving lights and the rest of the trucks peripherals the 10SI alt. just does'nt cut it!Thanks for the help.



    <font color=green>BobK<font color=green>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.zing.com/picture/p8947726813026de684f60e0bd6f3fbfe/fe8f5839.jpg>http://www.zing.com/picture/p8947726813026de684f60e0bd6f3fbfe/fe8f5839.jpg</A>
     
  2. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Great, you got the TPI up and running! Great job!

    My direct charge alternator has the single wire that charges direct to the battery, but it also has a plug that goes into the harness..............just don't remember if it has one wire or two that feed back to the gauge, etc. But for sure you need to have more than just the direct charge cable.

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.alloffroad.com>http://www.blazzinor.alloffroad.com</A>
     
  3. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Not sure if this applies to all one-wire alternators, but I was reading somewhere yesterday that they don't come on till 1200 rpm. If this is the case with yours, it may not be the best choice for a 4x4, your battery would always be discharging at idle.

    Pete

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     
  4. 502Burban

    502Burban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    You are correct about the one-wire alternators not starting to charge until a higher rpm is reached, but this is just to start charging. Once that rpm level is hit (you can just blip the throttle) then it will continue to charge, even at lower rpm levels. So, no need to worry about running at lower rpms. [​IMG]

    Robb
    '73 GMC Suburban - 502DFI
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://community.webshots.com/user/robbrj>http://community.webshots.com/user/robbrj</A>
     
  5. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Now that is interesting - when we fired off my TPI406 first time, my engine builder put an amp test on the alternator, and at idle it put out 85 amps! Mine is a direct charge but still plugs into the harness, minus one wire.

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.alloffroad.com>http://www.blazzinor.alloffroad.com</A>
     
  6. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    I bought a Summit brand 140 amp alt.It's got a rubber plug where the other 2 wires would normally be hooked to.The tag on the alt. shows it's test results,mine says 90amps at idle and 165 amps at highway speeds.Not bad I guess.Can I reconnect the 2 wires on the new alt. if I remove the rubber plug?Will it hurt anything?

    <font color=green>BobK<font color=green>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.zing.com/picture/p8947726813026de684f60e0bd6f3fbfe/fe8f5839.jpg>http://www.zing.com/picture/p8947726813026de684f60e0bd6f3fbfe/fe8f5839.jpg</A>
     

Share This Page