Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Over heating

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by balazerjake86, Oct 30, 2002.

1. balazerjake86

balazerjake86 Registered Member

i have a 86 4wd blazer and it keeps overheating (almost 230) i have a new water pump,thermstat,and the heater core is good. I think that i need a new radiator but do not know what i need. i think a three row would be good but i have only seen them for 125.00 is that good or can i find one cheaper somewhere else. also when i look into the radiator i see some stuff on the inside. sorry for the long post but i am a newbie and wanted to give all the info i could.thanks all

2. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

I would say try flushing the radiator first and see if there is any difference.
    I did mine by buying th kit from wall mart, that kit actually back flushes the whole system including the heater and the engine.
    I think it cost around $20.
    Or you could have your radiator flow tested at a radiator shop and if it's plugged they can clean it for you.
    Unless it's wasted and not repairable I wouldn't change it.

3. Rick

Rick Registered Member

mine used to do the same thing when I was on the highway and it was a clogged radiator. Thats a pretty good price for a 3 row radiator mine was $115 all other places were beetween $160 to $250.

4. balazerjake86

balazerjake86 Registered Member

i did a compression test and they were all within 10 percent. i did buy some flush from walmart but i think it is too clogged. also it only overheats on the interstate. about how much does it cost to get one rodded out.

5. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

I am talking about the kit not the flush.
    It basically puts a T fitting in the heater return hose, and you connect a garden hose to that.