Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

oxidized paint, rubbing compound???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bigbadchev84, Mar 9, 2005.

1. bigbadchev84

bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status

what is the best way to buff out my rig??? i was thinking rubbing compound it has no clear coat and is pretty oxidized. does anyone have any tricks or recomendations on what i use??? i have never used rubbing compuond before so is there anything i need to know before i start????

2. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

I used a medium grit cutting cream with a fairly good buffer and it made a world of a difference. To really make the paint shine you have to slightly remove a top layer and you need to make sure your paint is thick enough for a good buffing job. If you do use a big buffer be carefull because you have the power of burning through the paint.

3. gjk5

gjk5 3/4 ton status

I gotta tell you, before you try rubbing compound go to the zone and see fi they have this stuff called "TR3" it's this glaze that you rub on by hand and then buff out. I used this stuff on my '72 when I got it and was amazed at the results for a couple of hours of labor, lemme see if I have pics.......

OK, here's before:

[​IMG]

And here's after:

[​IMG]

Not a miracle by any means, but not too shabby at all for a 33 year old paint job and a couple hours work.

4. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

Heck, with my '83, washing it made a huge difference in how the paint looked. Not dirty, the paint would come off with a wet rag though.

The pictures posted above are pretty impressive. I have a feeling if you JUST buff out the oxidation, it will come back fairly quickly...without a layer of anything to protect it, you can't prevent oxidation.