Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Partitioning RAM

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by hunterguy86, Nov 21, 2006.

  1. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    I was talking to a buddy about computers the other night.

    He was telling me that he set aside a portion of his RAM on his computer and has it dedicated to temporary files.

    Instead of writing to the hard drive, temporary files, suchs software install files and temporary internet files, are written on the RAM partition. He said this helps with the speed of file installation and things of that sort.

    Anybody got more insight on this? Is this a good or bad thing to do? Any other reasons for doing so?
     
  2. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    That sounds very interesting... I don't have any idea on good or bad, but I'm very curious about the "How" part...
    Is he definately thinking of standard PC ram and not some kind of ram-drive? If he were doing an installation and using the PC's ram, all thos temp files would be gone with a reboot, which may be important to certain software installs.
     
  3. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    did he happen to mention if he was running linux.


    cause that would be a MAJOR pain in the ass on windows (unless there is some clever 3rd party software to do it).
     
  4. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Good call, I was just assuming windows...
     
  5. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    Yes its windows XP. Now that you say that I remember him mentioning something about 3rd party software needed to do it.
     
  6. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    Been around for a long time in windows and linux.

    Windows/DOS commonly referred to it as a ramdrive.
     

Share This Page