Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

PC based Scan tools

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sled_dog, May 26, 2005.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Does anyone have a PC based scan tool or experience with one?

    www.obd2.com

    I'm looking at the products that company has. Seems like I could put together a PC based Scan tool setup for cheaper than buying a quality scan tool. That would also allow me to look stuff up online or in computerized service programs instead of just referencing from a scan tool to a pc or book.
     
  2. originalspanksta

    originalspanksta 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    i dont have experience with pc based stuff but i will say that we have a scan tool that I sell at work, for 150 retail, (i get a substantial discount) and it is AWESOME. takes 5 minutes to use, it's all self containedin a small package, tells each code (comes with a book with close to 4000 different codes in it, make specific or not) and allows you to erase the codes and turn off the light if neccessary. 1/2 the time it gives more details than the 2500 dollar snap-on scanner/computer that my machanic has. As far as Im concerned it's well worth the $$ and lack of hassle.
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I truly doubt its anything like I want or need. Does it read TPS signal? Fuel Trim? A/F Ratio? MAP signal? RPM? Does it let you know if engine monitors have been run(OBDII self diagnostics)? I don't want something that just tells me what code was tripped.
     
  4. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    why not just use Winaldl? pretty sure that gives you all that for the cost of a $30 cable and a laptop...
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    ALDL is GMs OBDI setup, I am talking OBDII(all brands, national standardization, blah blah blah). A friend has one from www.obddiagnostics.com they are like $95 shipped, though hes had issues with his so far. need to try it on someone elses car, he has a Toyota so who knows.
     
  6. 1985K20

    1985K20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec,Canada
  7. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Sounds like a really good price. I guess I should note, I'm not talking weekend warrior usage here guys. I am at school to learn to be an Auto Tech and though I don't really wish to be solely or forever an auto tech, I expect I'll have to do my time and want some tools to go with it.

    For the price I am going to try the OBD Diagnostic setup. Just need to find a cheap laptop to go with it.
     
  8. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    I love the Ease products. Thats one brand we use at school. I bought a pocket PC for the purpose of getting the ease setup for it (There is only OBDII for the pocket PC scan tool). It is quite in expensive and a good product, much better then the Strap-On scanner.
     

Share This Page