Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Picked up this compressor today

Discussion in 'The Tool Shed' started by 88sub4x4, Dec 6, 2006.

1. 88sub4x4

88sub4x4 1/2 ton status

I picked up this compressor today. It has a twin cylinder pump and a 5.5HP Honda engine. Runs great. Wasn't looking for a gas unit, but I don't have proper electric to run a 220V unit at my house. Need the electric co. to run some new wires down the street. Anyway, got it for 300. Thought that was a good deal. I need to weld some reinforcement to the motor mounting plate because of the crack. Also had to put new gauge and coupler on due to leaks. I have never used a unit like this before. It runs until the pressure reaches 160psi, then the engine idles down and air purges out of somewhere for a few seconds bringing it down to 120psi, then the engine revs up again and pumps to 160. This cycle continues over and over. Is this how these units are supposed to run? I think it is supposed to stay at 160 until I use some air and when it gets down to 120 it should kick back up, but am I wrong? Please school me on this. The third pic is of where the pressure line runs to the carb to kick the idle on and off. Not exactly sure how this works either.
    Thanks for any advice guys:waytogo:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. 88sub4x4

88sub4x4 1/2 ton status

Here is a pic of the crack.
    [​IMG]

3. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

good score..

A compressor like that is hard to find for less than 500 bucks with a Honda motor on it...you did OK!..