Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Picture needed of Th400 OD switch mounted.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by keith, May 9, 2005.

  1. keith

    keith 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    La Fayette, GA
    Can some one show me how that thing goes in. Been looking at it and it needs to be it put in. Thanks
     
  2. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    OD switch? if OD stands for overdrive, a th400 aint got overdrive. Can someone school me if it stands for something else?
     
  3. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,970
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Jah, I'm thinking the OP meant the kickdown switch.

    -- A
     
  4. keith

    keith 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    La Fayette, GA
    What ever its called I still need a picture. Yes I know it has 3 gears.
     
  5. moneypit

    moneypit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Posts:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    COLORADO
    Is yours pedal operated or up by the carb/tbi linkage?
     
  6. keith

    keith 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    La Fayette, GA
    Its a switch by the pedal
     
  7. moneypit

    moneypit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Posts:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    COLORADO
    Don't know about that one but I do however have the B&M one that hooks up to the tbi linkage that is electronic, not that old. I don't need it anymore due to manual valve body. If you can't figure it out let me know. I will be posting it up for sale as soon as I have time to remove it. I will make it right for you though. Peace-out
     
  8. keith

    keith 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    La Fayette, GA
    When you put this on did you notice any difference? And why did you go to the manual valve body?
     
  9. moneypit

    moneypit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Posts:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    COLORADO
    The k5 had a 700r4 in it. I swapped in a th400/doubler and had no kickdown/passing gear, had to pull it down manually. I added the switch and all was good. I just recently cracked the th400 and had to replace it, so I went with a Art Carr reverse -pattern manual valebody. It will no longer shift itself so the switch is no longer needed. The switch has 2 wires 1 to power 1 to trans. It operates of the tbi linkage, there is a spring attached that pulls on the solenoid deal that sends a signal to trans to kickdown. You still need to adjust it but it's simple. Got it from Summitt for $50???ish...
     
  10. 77crewcab

    77crewcab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Dont have a pic but I can describe how it goes. From the trans tunnel side put the switch in the hole on the pedal bracket with the peg towards the trans tunnel and the metal mounting bracket hole down. It really only goes one way from what I can tell.
     
  11. thebigdaddyof2

    thebigdaddyof2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Posts:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Yep, pretty straightforward.

    The switch mounts in the throttle pedal bracket as stated above.
    The throttle pedal arm pushes on the peg of the switch when "floored" and sends +12v down to the T400 to indicate the need for passing gear.
     
  12. keith

    keith 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    La Fayette, GA
    Thanks I will look at it tomorrow.
     
  13. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,351
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    This is the only one I have:
    [​IMG]
    Hope it helps at least a little.
     
  14. keith

    keith 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    La Fayette, GA
    I was looking at the lower bolts. Makes perfect sense now. Cool. I was just figuring it may have been different in a blazer. I will have it in today. Thanks for everything :grin:
     
  15. keith

    keith 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    La Fayette, GA
    Now I also see why i missed it. Had several things zip tied to it. Radio wires,ecu harness. :)
     

Share This Page