Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Pinion angles

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by wrathORC, Jul 18, 2003.

1. wrathORC

wrathORC 1/2 ton status

OK, I believe I have a pinion angle problem. I read through the archives and it seems that most people prefer the pinion pointed up. I need your guys' expertise before I spend money. I think I need to go buy 4-5° shims to point the pinion back down, U-bolts, center pins, and new universals.

I'm no rocket scientist but it doesn't make sense that a pair of universals can survive this kind of abuse. If they can then I won't shim it and I'll just replace the universals since I know the front one is the original (still has nylon injected in it) and there is no signs of the rear one being replaced in recent history in its 84,000 mile life. Money is kind of tight right now after going over budget so if I can save the $40 for U-bolts, $40 for shims, and $10 for pins then I would rather do that.

The vehicle: longbox truck with a ten bolt and 52" springs that has a shackle flip (4" homegrown variety).

Symptoms: I developed a clicking noise similar to small pieces of metal getting shot at aluminum flashing today. I've never heard this noise before and all universals I've had go bad just clunked. I read here that this noise can be attributed to universals. The only other noise it could be is the rear differential. There is some slop in the rear universal (less than 1/16th of an inch) and an unmeasurable amount on the slipyoke one. The pinion seal started leaking and the pinion bearings were a little noisey but tight prior to assembly.