Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Pipe vs tube

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MTBLAZER89, Mar 21, 2006.

1. MTBLAZER89

MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

I am thinking of things like bumpers and such. Learn me about the differences, and pros cons etc. I know DOM is far superior, but is pipe similar to HREW? I was talking to the guy at the place i buy steel from, and he was showing me some pretty stout 1.5, and 1.75 pipe. I was thinking of maybe using this for a front bumper. What is the downfall of using pipe. Whats the difference between pipe and HREW? I want the bumper to be for protection on the trail, but I am not out ramming stuff either. Just wondering out loud here.

2. blazinzuk

blazinzuk Buzzbox voodoo Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Disclaimer I am not a metal expert and hold no degrees. Basically you ask this question and will get a hundred different answers, what it boils down to is tube is held to tighter tolerances than pipe in almost all aspects. In addition tube is processed more to obtain these tighter tolerances. That is the conclusion I come up with. I would not use pipe as a rollcage material for this fact. But I would use it as bumpers and sliders all day long. I have bent both using the proper dies on my bender and the tubing just looks less stressed than the pipe. No numbers here to back that up just what I see. Also I was going to use HREW tube for my rollcage but after looking around and asking many questions I decided my safety was worth the extra money

3. 79k20350

79k20350 3/4 ton status

pipe and tube are differant. dom and hrew are similar. dom actually starts out as hrew just goes through more processes. look in the center of gravity forum, theres a whole disscussion on this

4. Leper

Leper 1/2 ton status

5. cbbr