Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

placement for offroad light switches...??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RootBreaker, Nov 22, 2004.

  1. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    Ok I am going to start mounting my relay pack I bought back a while ago...
    [​IMG]
    Going to get the 4 lights on the front bumper hooked up by next weekend...

    Where would you put the switches? basically there is going to be 2 for front bumper and 4 for rollbar...
    breakdown... Rollbar lights are broken but will get new ones later.. 5 forward on 3 switches and 2 eagle eyes backwards on 1 switch... 4 on front bumper on 2 switches....
    I have a headliner in the truck that has a flat spot to it...
    [​IMG]



    or on the right side of the dash.. lower area.. Since I do not have AC the vent is not there but a flat spot.. May be tight for that ammount of switches....
    [​IMG]


    or cutout the storage spot on the upper right side of the dash and put a flat plate there....Nothing stays in there at the moment anyway....
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    There is plenty of room there for 6 switches. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [​IMG]
     
  3. walla2k5

    walla2k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Sorry I don't have pics,but I had six switches mounted verticle between the ashtray and the glovebox... /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  4. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    I have some switches on the metal cover plate just under the steering wheel.
     
  5. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    I vote for right here.
    [​IMG]

    If I didnt have a vent there I would make it a switch panel. It easily reachable and visible. I have mine down under the headlight knob, but i have to look to find it. i think it would be nice and easy where the cubby is. Check out seabass in the giveaway froum see if he could whip ya up a nifty little panel /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  6. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT
    This is where I put my ARB switches, could be a good place for light switches I would think. My rock lights switch is mounted on the top part, sorry no ppic of that.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. kyser_soze

    kyser_soze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC Missouri
    I mounted my switches on the console, between the seats. I removed the cup holders and replaced them with a flat diamond plate. They are easy to see, and easy to reach. My drinks just bounce out of the holders anyway! /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
     

Share This Page