Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Plasma Cutter/Welder???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Michk5, Apr 17, 2005.

1. Michk5

Michk5 1/2 ton status

Misawa Japan until December...moving to Wichita Ka
    First off, I'm a total newb with this stuff...the only experience I've really had was in precision machine trade class in H.S. We did a little bit of everything about 6 months worth of training. I'm looking to buy plasma cutter and a welder for some upcoming fab work. As far as the plasma goes as long as it can sever 1/2" and cut 3/8" (clean) it should fit the bill for what I need. Also, I'd like a reliable welder that will be easy to use/maintain. Basically this stuff will be used to make bumpers, sliders, skid plates etc. I know that most of you will probably say that I don't have enough experience to tackle such a job...but to hell with that...I can do it.LOL I know with some practice I can lay a good bead again. There are so many machines out there and I don't really know how big of a machine I need. Can someone point me in the right direction??? :confused:

Matt

2. gone huntin

gone huntin 1/2 ton status Premium Member

If you're wanting a machine to sever 1/2 inch then get ready to drop about $2-$2500. The small plasma cutter that I bought that severs 1/4 was $1250.

3. Mad-Dog

Mad-Dog 1/2 ton status

plasma cutters are nice but 1/2" capabilities are gonna cost some serious dough.

I acquired a MIG/TIG unit with 185 amp/220 VAC service that serves me well,

A 185 amp MIg is fine for you, don't mess with the flux core units just run a 75/25 mix of CO2/ARGON......you'll like it

4. Michk5

Michk5 1/2 ton status

5. Michk5

Michk5 1/2 ton status