Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Play station 2 help...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by NoSmog73, Dec 25, 2002.

  1. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Ok I could use some help on getting this playstation going...LOL

    If I plug into the back of the stereo reciever where it says video 1 and plug in the red white and yellow cords then get a cord that has the 3 wires Red,White,Yellow, and plug it into the output of the same video 1 and plug that into the tv ..That should work so that I have the sound/picture through the stereo...Right

    Here is a pic of the back of the stereo recevier and the back of the TV if it helps....

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. BOWTIE

    BOWTIE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Posts:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Outside with the sawzall.
    sounds like it'll work.

    the way i have mine hooked up is with the front jacks on my tv. and in the back i have the outputs to the stereo receiver.
     
  3. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I hooked mine up to the front panel jacks on my VCR. Just put the VCR on F-1, the reciever set to VCR, and it's on. Thisway I don't ever have to disconect anything./forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    I read the directions better and I have it going to the tv plug ins in the back but need the remote for the tv to turn it to input mode or something like that..(lost the org remote) and it should work though...*crosses fingers*
     
  5. Strahan

    Strahan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Posts:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yoe, PA
    Well, you could do that but it's not necessary. Plug the left and right audio (red/white) and video (yellow) into the receiver's Video 1 IN jacks then grab a single RCA cable and run it from "Monitor" to the video in on your television. Now you can run another A/V device to video2 and switch back and forth between them. Also no need to run the audio back to the TV cuz the whole point of running audio to the receiver is to get that receiver powered audio /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Edit: I don't mean you -have- to run another device to video2, just that you could if you want w/o having to have a mess of cable to the tv and back and whatnot.
     
  6. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Thanks to all that gave me the ideas to fix it...Now I just have to get a new remote...LOL
    Again thank you for the help...Mike
     
  7. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    On most TV's you'll have a menu button on the front. Play around with it till you find "Input". You should be able to switch it back and forth between the 2 inputs.
     
  8. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    The PS2 can hook straight up to the TV input jacks (yellow, white and red.)
    You have to change the input mode. On mine, it is called AV mode. If you can find the remote, it should a one button affair. On mine, you can do it without the remote by hitting the setup button and then using volume up to change the setting from TV to AV.
    -- Mike
     
  9. MudFrog

    MudFrog 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Posts:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daleville, Va
    I would keep the video straight to the tv if I were you. Going through the receiver will just downgrade the picture.
     

Share This Page