Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Pleas Help On This Issue I Have

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MEGALADON, Feb 4, 2005.

  1. MEGALADON

    MEGALADON 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HOUSTON
    I just got a 82 GMC 4x4. it has a 350 trans, the truck came with an overdrive.
    I have a 700r-4 from a 91 camaro rs, I want to put in. ALLMOST MOST 4x4
    shops here in houston wont give me info I need to make the swap. some folks
    have said i need a different output shaft and adapter, some say i just need
    the output shaft without the adapter. Being that this is a real 4X4 website,
    will someone please give me the real info I need, or what I need to do. :(
    thanks
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    I believe you need to either have an adapter made , and have a shorter rear driveshaft and longer front driveshaft made , and make crossmembers up .

    Or you just have a shorter 4x4 output shaft put in the transmission .

    Easiest to sell the camaro tranny and pick another up used :k5: :k5:
     
  3. MEGALADON

    MEGALADON 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HOUSTON
    I thought the same also, but why do all that if it had an overdrive before.
    the only thing I see different is the 350 is shorter than the R-4, the 350
    has a thick adapter plate between the trans and tranfer case, I am thinking
    I can put the correct outputshaft on the R-4 and delete the adapter. No
    need to relocate anything. I am just not sure If I do need a adapter or
    spacer between the trans and transfer case for the r-4. I hope someone
    with a overdrive on their truck can look at their's or point me in the right
    direction, maybe with a company that does this kind of work.
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I think I understand what you are saying...the truck ORIGINALLY had a 700R4. Someone blew that up (likely) and instead of putting another 700R4, converted it to a TH350. The TH350 conversion requires an adapter plate to make up the length difference between the two trannies so the t-case isn't messed with.

    The ONLY issue is how far the output shaft sticks out of the transmission. Someone will have to answer for you whether or not the 700R4 output shaft length was different on 2WD and 4WD apps. If it is the same, then there should be no reason you can't just pull the adapter and bolt the 700R4 in.

    Worst case would be replacing output shaft with 4WD one I imagine.
     
  5. MEGALADON

    MEGALADON 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HOUSTON
    I have a 350 trans now, and I want to put back in a 700R-4 :)
     
  6. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,621
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    Advance Adaptors sells the new output shaft that you need for the 700r4 its a shorter shaft that allows you to use the 350 mounting plate for the t-case which for me was a 203. ORD sells them also mine was like $150. The guy who originally built my 700r4 which was two wheel drive charged me like $60 to put in the new shaft, well worth it cause I'm trans-illiterate:)
     
  7. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    546
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    look under the truck and see if there is a 2" spacer in between the tranny and tcase adapter. it is most likly alum piece. and when under there what tcase do you have? look for a round tag on beck of unit and see if it says 203-c/205-c/208-c. the 203 and205 are castiron. the 208 is alum. and the 203 is full time unit with realy big alum back end of tcase for rear drive shaft to bolt to yoke.
     
  8. MEGALADON

    MEGALADON 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HOUSTON
    yes there is :D

    If im correct, I should just be able to take that out
    and put a different output shaft on the 700 and put it in.
     
  9. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    546
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    read my post again i added some more. sorry for that.
     
  10. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    546
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    yes thay did the swap the correct way. the tranny is spaced from the tcase and no drive shaft mods where done . just change tail shaft and bolt in. but look for the lockup 4 wire plug on left side . need it to work . all linkage is same to 700.
     
  11. MEGALADON

    MEGALADON 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HOUSTON
    tail shaft or outputshaft?
    think i'll have any problems with a 454
    mated to a 700-R4 it is stock.(the motor)
     
  12. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    546
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    the same thing. and check your other post for the second answer.
     

Share This Page