Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

POLL and question about timing chains, its time to replace

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jjlaughner, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. jjlaughner

    jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    OK, I've got a basically stock 350 in my /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
    (motor was replaced at 76K, It has 180K showing now)
    The timing is floating and the computer is trying to find idle. My best guess, timing chain is worn.
    So heres the poll
    <FORM METHOD=POST ACTION="http://coloradok5.com/forums/dopoll.php"><INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="pollname" VALUE="1060407591jjlaughner">


    Which chain should I go with?
    <input type="radio" name="option" value="1" />go to local autozero and get an in stock replacement
    <input type="radio" name="option" value="2" />Jegs.com 220-9-3100 Cloyes "True" Double Roller
    <input type="radio" name="option" value="3" />Jegs.com 844-220-2100 Federal Mogal Double roller set
    <input type="radio" name="option" value="4" />Jegs.com 270-3405 Crane Cams BLAZER timing set Dual-Roller
    <INPUT TYPE=Submit NAME=Submit VALUE="Submit vote" class="buttons"></form>

    Let me know what you think if you have or have used one of them, or with you have another idea (minus the gear drives)!
    Will the double rollers fit under the stock cover?
     
  2. jjlaughner

    jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
  3. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    Get the Federal Mogul one since they have a factory in Frankfort /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. rugger03

    rugger03 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2000
    Posts:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    around
    since its going into a already worn engine, use the factory style replacement. It got it this far didn't it. The cloyes replacement would be my second choice. I wouldnt reuse a old timing chain on rebuilt motor, so that shouldnt be a consideration.
     
  5. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Any of the double rollers would be fine....BUT....

    If the chains wore, chances are a whole bunch of other things are worn as well, that need looked at. You know what I'm sayin? I'd hate to see you go thru all the trouble to swap a chain, only to find the motors knockin 5000 miles later /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  6. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Cloyes /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    If the "stock" replacement chain doesn't have the nylon teeth, I'd go for it.

    Stock chains last a long time, (especially if they aren't abused) double roller does nothing but add more weight. Sure it adds strength, but unless you routinely snap chains before 100K miles, the additional strength is a non-issue.

    A single row true roller chain would be decent, not sure if thats stock, or if the stock one isn't a true roller.

    Cloyes fake roller "roller timing chain" ticks me off a bit.
     
  8. jjlaughner

    jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    back to the top
    Got a chain $14.99 from AutoZone, this is their Factory replacement item.
    [​IMG]

    All steel, no weak stuff, I did notice its not trimmed down like the one on Jegs site (link above) and it only has one key notch on the lower gear.

    [​IMG] &lt;---Jegs 65$ cloyes unit
     
  9. Blazer1970

    Blazer1970 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Old Mission, MI
    On a lot of the factory small blocks, with the factory cam, the cam timing is retarded a few degrees. If you use an aftermarket (performance type) timing set, they are set at 0 degrees, and it will change your cam timing. In this case, you are better off with the set you have that is designed as a factory replacement.
     
  10. jjlaughner

    jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    more pics
    [​IMG] old chain
    [​IMG] Loose
    [​IMG] moved this much on both sides
    [​IMG] getting cleaned up
    [​IMG] new chain /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page