Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Polymeric mastic

Discussion in 'Audio' started by personaltrainer, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. personaltrainer

    personaltrainer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    I ripped up the carpet/insulation today and will have to replace it but first i wanted to cover the floor and wheel wells with this stuff from www.mcmastercarr.com p# 9709T19 Hoping to get some better sound from the stereo as well as have less road noise and a more "solid" feeling all around.

    Wondering who has used it and:
    1.How much to cover the entire floor/wheel wells
    2. How is this stuff compared to dynamat? - besides cheaper :)
    3. Do i need a special roller tool to propery instal it or can I just press it down with my hands?

    Thanks.
     
  2. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    Search for it. I believe Greg72 did his whole K5 with great results
     
  3. personaltrainer

    personaltrainer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    my bad. should have searched first!! I'll get on it right now.
     
  4. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Cheap. Good. Get Lots. Works Nice.....
     
  5. personaltrainer

    personaltrainer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    finally searched it. There is a sh#tload of info out there on this forum. This site has a great search function - some forums' suck! I'm a member of one that has a freaking google search in it for the search function - what crap!
     
  6. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Yup Im another one that coated the inside of a K5 with it.. Works good and is way more cost effective than Dynomat...
     
  7. personaltrainer

    personaltrainer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    did ya'll coat the inside of the fenders with it as well? The part in the cargo area, you know what I'm talking about?
     
  8. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I was going to but never got around to it. We made some new side panels though out of MDF and that improved the sound quality of the speakers I had in the fenders a ton...
     
  9. personaltrainer

    personaltrainer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    my side panels are made of 1/4" plywood painted blk. The PO did this. To mount speakers in there is just asking for trouble, huh? The panels are a good fit though - SOOO.... I could just use theses pieces as templates to cut thicker wood - how thick is the MDF you used? In hindsight, do you think mdf is the best material for this? Thanks
     
  10. Ruthven13

    Ruthven13 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Posts:
    664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fair Verona
    I don't see why you couldn't use them as templates. That is how I made mine. I used 3/4" birch plywood though. I laid the stock panels on top of the plywood and screwed drywall screws in through the holes to hold it in place. Also, this gives you the exact locations for the holes. Fit perfectly the first time! Just remember the back part where the tailgate closes will have to be routed out.
     

Share This Page