Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Poping noise?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by atvthumper, Apr 29, 2004.

1. atvthumper

atvthumper Registered Member

Hello I am a newbie so bare with me.. Recently bought a 88 Fullsize blazer.. After getting home with it we noticed a severe poping noise while we were pulling a trailer.. Now it seems to do it whenever it feels fit to do so.. First we thought it may be the U-joints so we replaced them.. Then we thought the back brakes but they look fine.. It mainly does it when turning or going into a curve.. We then though oh no maybe the rearend.. So we had a mechanic friend drive it and he said it sounded like the rear end.. However what we dont understand is that it doesnt do it all the time.. Just whenever it wants to.. You guys think its in the rearend or something else? Also I want to mention that we noticed that the passenger side rear leaf spring has a broke leaf in it could this be causing the poping sound.. It sounds like it is coming from the rear.. Just dont know much about rearends and need a little help from the pros here.. Thanks guys!

2. unclematty

unclematty 1/2 ton status

possibly that spring, is there one of those funky old lockers that kinda rachet? would like to hear it. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

3. atvthumper

atvthumper Registered Member

havent had the cover off the rear end yet to see what it looks like in there.. Going to try to do it this weekend if I have time.. Could it be this gov-lok thing I keep seeing posted everywhere?

4. Poohbair

Poohbair 1/2 ton status

For what it will cost you for some 90wt and a little perma sealer, pull that cover off and see what is going on in the rearend. You don't want that sum bitch coming apart going down the highway!!

5. 1-ton

1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member