Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Popping noise when in 4wheel... comin from the front end.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by AINT_STUCK, May 15, 2006.

1. AINT_STUCK

AINT_STUCK Registered Member

I'm fairly new to a Four-Wheel drive set up. So here goes... When i put my 76' k5 in four wheel i'm gettin a poping noise coming from the front end axle. I know the left side locked, but the right side is wierd. How does the manual locking system work? i also have trouble locking and unlocking and getting it out of four wheel. Can i leave one side locked and the other free? A buddy told me that the noise is coming from the hubbs not being completely locked.. is this the "poppin" noise? What is a remedy for some of these problems?

2. MTBLAZER89

MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Both hubs should be locked or unlocked at the same time. I would take the hubs out and give them a look over. One could be broken, and causing the noise. If you can't turn them by hand they prolly are pretty nasty inside anyway. If they look mechanically sound then clean them up throw a very light coat of grease on the splines, and reassemble.

3. darenofears

darenofears Registered Member

where

where were you driving when it was popping

4. AINT_STUCK

yes, its while i am in motion. The faster i go the more it clicks. It's not as bad when i get on the brakes or gas. It's worse when it's rolling down a hill or coasting. I accidently left it in four wheel leavin a party the other night. I soon pulled over and got it out of four wheel.

5. MTMike

MTMike 1/2 ton status

Does it do it more when you're turning the wheels? I had this happen in my old '79 and ignored it until 1 day "POP!!!" and no 4wd. I blew an axle u-joint out and the clicking sound was it warning me it was hating life.