Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

POR 15 Fact or Fiction

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by JK5, Feb 20, 2002.

1. JK5

JK5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

I painted the frame and floor on my K5 about 10 years ago, everthing was sand blasted and I used POR15 (Paint Over Rust) as a paint and primer! I ran out of the POR15, so I used epoxy primer and enamel on my gas tank and the gas tank guard!! Well after 1 year the POR15 started to fade and flake off ( I was fired up), the gas tank and guard still look nice (after 10 years) w/o any problems!! Since I`m a painter and I have many years of experience, I found that epoxy primer and a couple coats of enamel will last much longer and it is cheaper, about half price!! So don`t make the same mistake I did!! POR15 is a very expensive and very toxic paint!!! I was lucky I ddin`t use it on a customers vehicle!! I`ve talked to others in my profession and they have had the same problems!!! Does anyone have any horror stories? Any good stories?

2. muddin4fun

muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

Hmm..interesting. Never have tried the stuff myself

"Out in Luckenbach Texas, there ain't nobody feelin no pain" Waylon Jennings 1937-2002

<a target="_blank" href=http://www.bluefox.tv/~lara>My Wonderful Site</a>

3. riz

riz 3/4 ton status

<font color=blue> You shouldn't use it on bare metal unless you etch the surface first ....... it has to adhere to something, not a smooth sandblasted finish.

L8r,
    . Riz . <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/rizmonkey>www.geocities.com/rizmonkey</a>

<font color=purple> monkeys steal my underwear at night

4. JK5