Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Power Window Idea <--- IT WORKS

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Jason4x4, May 2, 2007.

  1. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    I have been thinking about my slow power windows. It seems it isn't just mine, but everyone's. SO I have been seeing alot of topics about adding relays to headlights to make them brighter by adding full battery voltage. And I already added a relay to my starter for the same reason.

    So, I am thinking about adding some relay's to my power windows, I looked at a diagram today at work and it didn't show any. I have no problem wiring it up, but has anybody tried this yet? If not, I think I will give it a whirl and maybe do a write up on it.

    Let me know what ya'll think. :D

    EDIT, I just got one side done, The drivers, and it is almost twice as fast as the passenger side now. It used to be slower. I used 2 standard bosch relays.
    Terminal 85- power from the window switch.
    Terminal 30- To window motor
    Terminal 87A & 86- to Ground
    Terminal 87- Goes to power, I used the junction block on the firewall, so I get as much voltage as possible.

    I am going to do the other side, it is just too hot right now. It was pretty simple, and they work soo much faster. It's amazing how much voltage drop there is on 25 year old wires and connectors.
    here's a pic of where I put the relays. I took the pic before I ran the power wire to them.

    HPIM0081.JPG
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2007
  2. txfiremank5

    txfiremank5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX.
    Interesting.. :thinking: just don't have your fingers in the way on the first test. ;) :D

    I too need to do something with mine soon. They're getting slow.. they've never been great since I've had it, but they're just getting worse every year. I've even gone in a did all the TLC stuff, to little avail.
     
  3. Redwookie

    Redwookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Posts:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charleston, SC by way of the PHX
    Sounds interesting. Sorry no advice here but I'd love to here how it turns out. I'm tired of "helping" my windows up.
     
  4. FlatBlackBurb

    FlatBlackBurb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    get a vid in case the window shatters :D
     
  5. lectric80

    lectric80 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grantsville, Ut
    I don't know about using full battery amperage as it may do as the above have stated and shatter a window, but if you could put say 50-60 amps to the system it should really speed up the windows. I have the same problem with my Astro windows they are extremely slow, especially when compared to the wife's Lumina. Let us know how it goes and what you did specifically, since I plan on adding power windows to the K5.
     
  6. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    The window motor will only pull as much power as it can use. If you put a 10,000 amp source to to 2 amp motor it'll still only draw 2 amps.

    The same CAN NOT be said of voltage.

    Voltage is force, amps are flow.

    A friend of mine has done the relay trick on his 4runner. He has a write-up on it out there soemwhere.
     
  7. Mudstud

    Mudstud 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Since the starter has a direct line from the battery what good is a relay there? How much more power can it get?:confused:
     
  8. mrdrinksalil

    mrdrinksalil 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    I wouldn't bother. I tried this allready but hooking the two wires from the motor right to the battery. Only like 2 feet of 10 gauge wire too. I had a friend hold the battery by the door while i held the leads to it. No faster. And yes, it was a good battery. Red Top Optima.
     
  9. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    just go wheeling again , put rock in door , then you can remove the door :pimp:
     
  10. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    I put in new motors and my windows go fast now.
     
  11. lurtch-k20-(78-90)

    lurtch-k20-(78-90) Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Troup, tx
    If you were to take the motor apart, clean the commutator(The copper area that the brushes touch), replace the brushes, bearings or bushings, change the grease (remove all of the old dirt encrusted crap), and regrease the window slides. Then everything will move easier and faster.
     
  12. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    It Works

    It works, see post # 1. A while back when I replaced the window seals, I put new rollers on the regulators, and cleaned and lubed everything, they were still slow.
     
  13. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Try the Furd relay configuration, it works!:D
     
  14. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Good Engineering, but two relays?
    Edit; I get it, one relay each window.:doah:
     
  15. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    one relay for up, one relay for down.
     
  16. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Then I don't think you need two per, just one upstream from the switch.:confused:
     
  17. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    I put them downstream from the switch, so that i'm not losing anything through the old switch.
     
  18. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Yup, I was wrong, but does the motor run from two or four wires?
     
  19. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    motor has 2 wires
     
  20. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    So the stock switch just flips the current. OK, I'll stop here until I look at diagrams again.:haha:
     

Share This Page