Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Power windows

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by eshorvath, Dec 2, 2003.

  1. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Does anyone have a diagram for the front windows (power) for a 1986 k5?

    My passenger window will only roll up or down from that side, not the driver side, and you have to flip the blue and brown wire back and forth to make it either go up or down...F%$^
    Eddie
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    you've got mail /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. BrianDamage

    BrianDamage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    sounds like you need to check the switches. shouldn't need a daigram for that
     
  4. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW THE SWITCHES AND POWER TO THE WINDOWS WORK?
    I was told that if there is a break in he wire between the driver and passenger doors, that my power problem will would exist...This makes no sense...Anyone have an idea?
    Eddie
     
  5. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    You've got mail /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    How does the switch work? Does the passenger switch need to be connected to he driver switch?
     
  7. fordeater

    fordeater 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missoula, Montana
    I've got the same problem with my rig, have no idea what to do.
     
  8. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Does the master switch have to be connected? Seems like they are on different loops
    Eddie
     
  9. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    To my understanding, they work separately from each other, if one side is dead, the other will sill work.
     
  10. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I thought so too....seems like it should be the switch, BUT>....Ive replaced the switch...Damned Chevrolet window witches...
     
  11. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Have you checked all the wires for continuity?
     
  12. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Im guessing that it HAS to be the switch...Just dont like the idea of buying another one when i just bought that one last year./..... /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  13. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    which side is it exactly that isn't working?
     
  14. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    [ QUOTE ]

    To my understanding, they work separately from each other, if one side is dead, the other will sill work.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's funny. I seem to remember a few yrs ago when I had my driver side window switch disconnected from the plug the passenger side wouldn't work and I ended up thinking my passenger side window stopped working suddenly. Then when I got around to reassembling my driver side door panel and put the switch back together I noticed that the passenger side window started working again. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif Maybe that's just my memory giving out on me but that's what I recall. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  15. eshorvath

    eshorvath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the passenger one
    If i switch the two wires around, the window will go up and down, but only moving he switch in the same direction
    it does not work at all by the driver side though.
    Eddie
     
  16. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    Your switches might have corrosion on the inside. If you have a DVM you can check the resistance of the switch when you operate it (should read 0 ohms). If the resistance on the switch is high then it won't work. You can either spend the $25+ on a new switch or you can carefullly take yours apart, clean it with contact cleaner (from Radio Shack for about $7) and Dremel tool with a wire brush. Reassemble it using dielectric grease (to improve electrical connections and stop corrosion) and it should be better than new. While you're at it clean the contacts on the window motor plug and reassemble with dielectric grease.
     

Share This Page