Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Power wire

Discussion in 'Audio' started by blazingboy, Dec 31, 2001.

  1. blazingboy

    blazingboy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Were would be the best place to go from the battery through the firewall to my amp
     
  2. ABO

    ABO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Burgh
    I know that I was able to run mine all the way up the pass. side. Theres a grommet on the left side of the engine compartment. Then just go under your carpet huggin' the side of the truck to the back, that is, if thats where your amp is.

    <font color=green> ABO </font color=green>
    <font color=red> I WIN<font color=blue>------</font color=blue>YOU LOSE </font color=red>
     
  3. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    There is usually an extra grommet or two within a foot radius or so of the steering shaft where it goes through the firewall. I've never had to drill a hole for a buttload of 73-87 GM trucks that I've put amps into. I could fit 1/0 gauge wire through the firewall on my '73 right now with no drilling.

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     
  4. walt88

    walt88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monmouth County, NJ
    I ran 4 ga. down the pass side frame rail then through the floor in the rear cuz my amps in the back.

    350FI/700r4/NP208c/10b's ORD 4" Shackle Flip/ORD Disconnects <font color=red>NJK5</font color=red><a target="_blank" href=http://groups.yahoo.com/group/njk5club>http://groups.yahoo.com/group/njk5club</a>
     
  5. DUKE

    DUKE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Posts:
    879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport Iowa
    I found i nice spot behind the glove box.

    DUKE
    Why go around when you can go over?
    <a target="_blank" href=http://bluechevyk5.8k.com/>http://bluechevyk5.8k.com/</a>
    85 K5 <font color=blue>Big Blue</font color=blue>
     
  6. Confederate9

    Confederate9 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2000
    Posts:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro NC
    i pulled mine through where the speedo is on the drivers side.
    fits nice

    <font color=red>K5: Because size DOES matter</font color=red>
    85 K5 4IN LIFT 35 GOOD YEAR WRANGLER MT/R, AMERICAN RACING WHEELS
     
  7. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,682
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Wherever you decide to fish the wire through.....be sure that there's an "in-line" fuse on that wire in the engine compartment! It's a basic safety thing, but a lot of people get in a hurry and forget to do it.......

    Next thing you know, they're looking at a pile of smoldering black ashes and wondering where their vehicle went!! [​IMG]

    Seriously, there's nothing funny about an electrical fire and it'll cost you a LOT more to fix than the fuse will cost you now!

    [​IMG]



    -Greg72

    '72 K5 Blazer - 427BB/TH350/NP205/6" Lift/35x12.50's
    <font color=blue>See it here: </font color=blue><a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun38</a>
     
  8. 4x4_76

    4x4_76 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ylämaa, Finland
    Yep.It's amazing how careless people can be sometimes.Couple of times I've asked from my friends to use main fuse when they install stereo systems.Stupidiest answer that I got was that "I'm not gonna enter any car hifi competition,so who cares".Whoa,like he was asking for shortcut on power wire.

    That main fuse should be about feet or so from battery.And always,there have to be a rubber grommet where wire goes trough metal.

    '80 K5,355/350/205,soon 6.2 diesel swapped in and 33" tires[​IMG]
     

Share This Page