Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

PP2 gurus

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by southernspeed, Oct 28, 2006.

  1. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Any pocket programmer geniouses in the club help me out?
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I'm borrowing one, but it's sitting back at home.

    I've used it successfully, I'll answer what I can, which is probably very little. :)
     
  3. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    ive got one, that i use quite a bit
     
  4. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Cool, the problem I'm having is driving me crazy. I've made several .bins and saved them with no problem. I load the buffer from my file. Hit programme and then verify. All works fine. I'm putting this .bin onto a AT29C256 chip.(it's a 4k .bin)
    When I try to use the chip the SES light is solid, no blink as expected and the chip gets hot to the touch instantly. The truck will start but it's not right.
    I've tried this on 3 chips and have also tried filling the chip with fff's first.
    I have buffer start at 00000, device start at 07000 and device end at o7fff.
    I can't think of anything I'm doing wrong but something ain't happening!!
    Any ideas???
     
  5. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,923
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Sounds like its running in limp mode...

    Are you sure you have the chip installed in the correct orientation? I'd comment on the hot part, but to tell the truth, I've never grabbed one of my chips while it was in use, for all I know they do get hot normally, lol

    Oh, also try disabiling the checksum, I couldn't get any custom chips to work on my TPI becuase the checksum calculation in my definition file wasn't right...
     
  6. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Well.....I've already been a man about it and confessed on thirdgen so I may as well make a twat of myself here too......
    Because the PP2 neds the chip notch near the lever....that's how I was putting it in the ECU even though I've fitted them correctly before.
    So...you can all throw stones at me now!
    It's working fine now despite my stupidity!
     
  7. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,923
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Got lucky man! And don't worry, it happens to the best of us, lol
     

Share This Page