Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Probably Goin Out On A Limb Here!!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Shadow_Killa, Feb 23, 2005.

1. Shadow_Killa

Shadow_Killa Registered Member

Oh well, here goes...I have a 1997 Chevy S10 single cab, long bed w/ the automatic Vortec V6!!! Everything is stock on it now...I am just getting into this jacking and lifting stuff...and was inquiring about some kits!!!

I am presently lookin at the Pro Comp 3" Suspension Kit as well as the Performance Accessories 2" Body Kit. And finally slappin on some 31" x 10.50 x 15 on some 15x8 rims...

...my questions are:
    (1)will my 31"x10.50 tires have enough clearance with those lifts? I do not want to trim fenders, can i go bigger??? What is the biggest tire/rim I could go with? Also tire width as well!!!

(2)will I see a significant change in my truck? I know I'm not going HUGE like most of you guys, but I have another confession to make...money is tight and my truck is not even a 4 wheel drive:blush:!!!

(3)will my truck be exactly lifted to the heights specified (3"(susp)+2"(body)+2"(tires)=7" total) or is it more or less??? If I put a tape measure from the ground to the bottom of my body now, and again after the lifts, will it be a 7 inch difference???

Thanks to all you 4x4 GODs and GURUs!!!

2. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

31x10.5's were optional on the S10's as I recall, so they should fit. Even the owners manual says you can't run chains with that tire size though, not enough clearance.

3. clarkjw24

clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner