Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Problem with ABS?

Discussion in '1992-Present Chevy & GMC models' started by willyswanter, Apr 15, 2003.

1. willyswanter

willyswanter 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

Ok, last Friday my brake pedal started hitting the floor and not stopping my truck... Not good in an 8k pound truck. Anyway, I was thinking I have a faulty master cylinder since I have no leaks and I'm full on fluid but I read something on the net today. There is a common failure on the Kelsey Hayes 4 wheel anti-lock system on these trucks that causes the pedal to hit the floor because a valve does not seat in the abs unit. Could this be my problem? Or do you think it's more of a master cylinder problem? The pedal has resistance all the way down, just like with normal brakes but it never stops, just keeps going till it hits bottom. Need this fixed asap so any help is greatly appreciated /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

2. MOABDADC22

MOABDADC22 1/2 ton status

[ QUOTE ]
    I read something on the net today. There is a common failure on the Kelsey Hayes 4 wheel anti-lock system on these trucks that causes the pedal to hit the floor because a valve does not seat in the abs unit.

[/ QUOTE ] You can check here to see if there wer anyTSB for your truck. If that helps. It sounds like the M/C is bad.

3. willyswanter

Yeah, I guess I'll throw a new M/C at it and see what happens. This is getting old really quick, not having a vehicle for 4 days now...

4. dhcomp

dhcomp 3/4 ton status Premium Member

Jason, isn't your ABS non functional because of the d60 swap anyways?
    If thats still true, why dont' you do what u were thinking of doing before
    and just route the brake lines to bypass the whole ABS system? That would sure
    make it a lot less complicated.....