Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Problems in 4 wheel drive

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by docgab, Apr 29, 2003.

1. docgab

docgab 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Hey all,
    Purchased my '78 K5 about 2 months ago or so. See below for specs. I put it into 4 hi for the first time today and had a (what I consider) strange thing happen. I was on wet pavement for about 20 yards before getting onto my dirt road. The front tires would spin out quickly then nothing, spin out, nothing, spin out, nothing etc. The tracks in the dirt going up a small hill showed the same thing. peeling out, then nothing etc. As you can probably tell, I am completely new to this but I am trying to learn! /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif I have no trouble with the rear so can I assume the problem is not with the t-case but with the front axle? All input is appreciated! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

2. bajaviking

bajaviking 1/2 ton status

Sounds like one of your locking hubs is bad. Take them apart and check them out, if everyting looks good clean them and put a little bit of grease on the moving parts and reassembly, don't fill the hub with grease since it will keep the parts that needs to move from moving. If this doesn't help you might have broken axle shaft.

3. 87sm465np208

87sm465np208 1/2 ton status

if you have autolocking hubs take them off and toss them down the driveway for the junkman to take away and then go get yourself some warn standard hubs, worth the money and will give you no [censored]. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

/forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif

4. docgab