Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Pros and Cons to buying 100+ year old homes?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by KRAZIE87K5, Jun 6, 2004.

1. KRAZIE87K5

KRAZIE87K5 1/2 ton status

I've been looking to move into a little larger house for some time now. My wife is really into the older style homes. We went looking today and found this home:

http://64.53.225.17/113crawford/default.htm

What are the upsides and downsides to buying a 100 year PLUS old home? We thought of lead paint, the cedar siding rotting, and the basement never being able to be finished.

I'm a rookie at all this stuff, and really have no idea. We're serious though... as my wife is looking to possibly put an offer on this house soon.

Comments? Questions? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

-Dan

2. bigyellowjimmy

bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

Pro's- character, style, history and often built on a large lot.

Con's- Old plumbing, wiring, plaster, heating and air conditioning usually not forced air into each room, higher utility bills.

/forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. outlaw612

outlaw612 1/2 ton status

The biggest problem with the old homes (in my opinion) is the lack of energy effeciency and old utilities. Ours was built in 1924 and is structuraly very sound but there is no insulation anywhere. Most of the problems can be fixed by a DIY guy like yourself, just do your research and dig in. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

Personally Id rather work on my house than the truck most of the time. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

4. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

If you're going to buy a house, have it inspected. It's worth it to pay a inspector so you'll know what all is going too need to be done. /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif