Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

proud owner of TPI system

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Nonesuch, Nov 10, 2001.

  1. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    just got it today. Its the old style with a MAF sensor but i will convert it someday. Which leads me to a question or two. I need to know what fuel pump i need for this baby and what do i need to do to convert to speed density besides the ECM? thanks for the help!
    Justin
     
  2. Danno

    Danno 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Posts:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    I don't know much about TPI in general, but I do know some guys who REALLY know their stuff when it comes to TPI. They're all over at <a target="_blank" href=http://fox.vet.purdue.edu/phpBB>http://fox.vet.purdue.edu/phpBB</a>, which is a car club at Purdue University in Indiana.

    These guys have torn apart and modified more TPI cars than any other group I know. There are a couple who work for GM, and all of them race, so they can probably recommend a few aftermarket intank fuel pumps for you.

    Give them a holler, they'll gladly help.

    1984 K5 Blazer 4x4 Silverado
    6.2L diesel, 700R4, 3.42 gears, 31x10.5" tires
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The wiring harness is different for a MAP system vs. a MAF system. The MAF system is much more forgiving of engine mods, as it precisely measures the incoming airflow (in grams per second) and adjusts the injector timing accordingly. Bigger cams don't upset the MAF system (at least to a point) like they can a MAP system. MAP systems are more likely to require a custom chip if you start making changes to the engine, but MAP systems are also more rugged. Once programmed to work with a particular engine, they'll run for a very long time.

    Painless Wiring www.howell-efi.com sell wiring harnesses to hook up either type. But you don't want to do one now and change to the other later. That would mean buying a second harness and a different chip to make the change.

    For the fuel pump, you'll need to decide if you want an in-tank or in-line pump. I've got a Bosch in-line pump mounted inside the frame rail. MUCH easier to change if required. It's from a Jaguar V-12 application. An in-tank pump from a TPI Cama-bird is an easy fit, if you already have an in-tank TBI pump. They look the same, but the TPI pump kicks out about 45 PSI vs. around 13 PSI for the TBI pump.

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  4. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    thanks for the info. sounds like i may keep it MAF. i have been looking at the bosch in lines too. what is the minimum flow rate (GPH) i need to keep everything happy?
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I don't remember the flow rate on mine. I bought it in 1989. [​IMG] But I knew a guy that road raced Corvette's with 450 HP engines and that Bosch is what he used. [​IMG] He said that stock 'vette pumps couldn't keep up with the demands of his engines.

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  6. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    And if you need the Bosch part number I have it...........just need to dig it out.

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com>www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  7. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    thanks blazzinor, i would appreciate the part number. this is a pre vats system, but not sure about the VSS. i heard it was also prone to electrical fires. its off a 85 camaro. or maybe the fires came on the 84 vettes systems i cant remember. anyways, i am just going to bolt it up and try to get her running like she is. my engine is a bone stock rebuilt 350 that was put in right before i bought my truck. any cam recommendations to help increase low end? also what can i do for heads? i was going to use vortec heads in a previous configuration but now im not sure which way to go. i have access to the heads that were on this camaro but im not sure if they would be a good investment. damn i need to slow down on the coffee!
    Justin
     
  8. DieselDan

    DieselDan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Posts:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vermont
    It can't be a '84 vette as that was the first year of the Gen IV body style and it used twin throttle body injection. Don't think it was a '85 Camaro either cause the F-bodies usually had to wait a year or two before they got the latest equipment from the Y-body (Vette). If you got the PN off the ECM you can cross refference its application. I think it was on the DIY-EFI websight. Also, if the EGR intake was external (had a wrapped tube going over the valve cover) it came off a Vette. If the EGR was fed thru the manifold heat riser passage it came from a F-body.

    Real trucks don't have spark plugs!
     
  9. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    ECM #1226870, here is the link to jims that says its an 85 <a target="_blank" href=http://www.jimsperformance.com/portinj.html>jims</a> i was saying that i heard the early efi systems were prone to catching on fire. i am not sure if it was the 84 vette system(crossfire) or 85 TPI systems. as for this being a carmaro/firebird system, i could be wrong, it could be off a vette. but it doesnt matter to me im just happy that i will be fuel injected within a couple of weeks!
    Justin

    <P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by Nonesuch on 11/11/01 09:18 AM.</FONT></P>
     
  10. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    HEHE! Cross fire = Cease fire! They were a decent idea, they just didnt like to work.

    If ya can't stop.......Smile as you go under! [​IMG]
    PIC of mine from flblazers site<a target="_blank" href=http://www.flblazer.alloffroad.com/photo3.html>
    GO</a>
     
  11. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    by the way i have lots of pictures if you would like to look at it
    Justin
     
  12. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I'll get the Bosch pump part number later when I can find it...........but for now, keep in mind if you have a system that uses VSS you will need a custom chip that programs it out of the equation.

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com>www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  13. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    yeah i know about VSS. I think i will run the ECM down to FIS in san antonio and have them work it over for me. unless there is anyway to run it without gettign it removed. what do i need for the vss to work? my blazer is an 83 with a th350.
     
  14. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    That intake won't bolt up to Vortec heads. If you want to use them then you'll have to get the TPI baseplate that fits Vortec heads. Scoggins-Dickey is the only place I know of that sells them. They're around $400. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  15. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.sdpc2000.com/htm/vortec_tpi.html>http://www.sdpc2000.com/htm/vortec_tpi.html</a>
     
  16. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    hey thanks for the info. i had planned on vortec heads until the tpi purchase. i then figured i would keep the stock ones until i could afford aftermarket heads. but with that intake and vortecs i would be near the same cost. i will have to weigh the options and see which will net me more power. thanks again for the info!
    Justin
     
  17. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    VSS bolts to the back of your speedo, although I believe it is already there if you have (or had) a lockup th350. 700's in '83 most definitely had VSS.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  18. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    VSS is such a Pia... I would just get a chip burnt to eliminateit and max out any mods you make to the motoor such as different heads or porting. That way you will be sure to have the ecm set for the exact combo you have. Also I believe 1985 was the first year across the board for TPI. I know for sure it was in the f-bodys. Not sure on the vettes though... but I think they were 85 also

    -Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch</a>
     
  19. Nonesuch

    Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Posts:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin(Leander), TX
    cool, my tranny originally was a 700r4 so im should have VSS. i will keep in that way for now unless i have problems. thanks alot for all of your help!
    Justin
     
  20. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Well I would guess it has to do with the transfer case since that houses the speed senor or speedo gear. I have an 87 w/ a 700r4/208 combo and it still has gears. I think it wasn't till they went to the 241 case that they started using speed sensors instead of the gears, but not positive.

    -Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch</a>
     

Share This Page