Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Psychology

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by newyorkin, Jul 21, 2005.

1. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

I've studied psychology a little. A few months ago, I started studying it as a science/industry instead of as a student of it.

Friggin amazing. We are sheep. All we need is something to cling to. The more I grow up, the more I'm amazed and depressed to observe the lack of truth in the world, and people's extreme tendency to grasp what they've heard as what they've learned.

For example, I wonder how many people still believe chemical imbalances are a true cause for mental health issues. It's been hammered into our heads as if it were a scientific fact for the last 20 years, but in truth, it's a theory that's debatable as even good. But the company's that sell balance-restoring chemicals pay the advertising dollars, and hammer it hard enough to convince educators, who propagate the lie.

Surprisingly, Tom Cruise, who I always thought was an idiot/mindless celebrity, has done the same thing I'm doing, then he went and talked about it on TV, and now the psychiatric industry is trying to fillet him. One psychiatrist even insulted his acting abilities, which seems just a little childish and pinch-backish to me.

2. thatK30guy

thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

So, whats your take on chemical imbalances? :ears:

3. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

while i tend to think the whole chem inbalance thing is over stated, it is worth noting that the theory hasn't been disproven. Its still being debated, so there may yet be something too it. One thing Cruise was right about though, people are WAY over medicated these days... and psycho-ligists are a big part of the problem.

j

4. chevyfumes

chevyfumes Court jester