Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Pulling tranny and need to keep things from spinning

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 74kay5, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. 74kay5

    74kay5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    Anybody know any tricks if your pulling a transmission by yourself to keep everything spinning when loosening or tightening the flexplate to torque converter bolts? I tried putting a large socket and wrench on the front balancer bolt on the front of the crank and a large breaker bar but it just slips off with every try I make. I know there's a tool that has teeth and holds the flex plate at the bottom by the teeth but again, you need 2 people.
     
  2. onetonbb74

    onetonbb74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Campbell, CA
    if you need help holding the crank, i live in sj and can help. Otherwise, i use a skrewdriver and put it inbetween the engine oil pan and a random hole in the flexplate then turn until it stays there.
     
  3. 74kay5

    74kay5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    Thanks for the offer, but I moved to the north bay. I never thought of that, I'll try it, thanks.
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    the easiest way i have found, turn the flexplate so the bolt is close to the bottom. put the wrench on it so that is sticks to the left of the truck, then yank straight down. it puts more force on the bolt and is harder to turn the motor over.
     
  5. goldwing2000

    goldwing2000 Guest

    That method works. If it's still too tight (it shouldn't be) use a combination of that and onetonbb74's method. I would put the screwdriver on the ring gear and brace it against the bellhousing, though.
     
  6. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I've used the "try to jam a screwdriver in there" method in the past. I finally broke down and spent the $10 for the correct tool for holding the flywheel/flexplate in place. It makes those jobs SO much easier. It was well worth the money. :cool1:
     
  7. jk3078

    jk3078 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moyie Springs Id.
    Allways worked for me.
     
  8. mo

    mo 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    not part of the question, but when installing or pulling tranny and t-case combo by yourself, a tranny jack is very very nice to have a round. i stuck it under the furniture dolly i was wheeling the tranny/t-case on and just jacked up the whole thing, made life much easier, and safer too. Almost killed myself taking it down before I got the tranny jack...
     
  9. 74kay5

    74kay5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    where did you get it? I asked around my local shops and they are so retarded they don't even know what I'm talking about. They just give me that look of bewilderment when I start talking about pulling a transmission.
     
  10. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
  11. garlicbreath

    garlicbreath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    I must be confused. My torque converter bolts have nuts on the back. 2 9/16 wrenches is all I need. Does your torque converter have threads in it?
     
  12. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    th350s and most th400s have a tab that uses a bolt and a nut, the 700r4s and a few th400 converters have a threaded part welded to the converter, no nut.
     
  13. stockk5

    stockk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    impact it off.. i just took my 9/16th closed box and put it over the bolt.. then just hammered on the wrench... this way it loosens the bolt w/ out having the whole thing spin.. worked great for me.
     
  14. R77K10

    R77K10 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln IL
    i always use a BF flathead screwdriver or a tire iron,

    but thats rare nowadays since i have one of thos enice flywheel teeth grabber handle tools exact same as the northern tool one, ours is red handled we got it from parts plus auto parts store years before they shut their doors here


    we use it all the time sometimes as much as everyday

    good luck
     
  15. muscle

    muscle 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Posts:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Show Low, AZ
    Ive never had this problen on a TH350 or 400. I just put on a heavy glove on on hand to hold the ring gear with and with a wrench in the other hand, yank that bolt loose. :D
     
  16. 74kay5

    74kay5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    just ordered it from northern tool, at 7.99 I couldn't afford to not buy it. I'll just wait until it comes in to pull the tranny. It's been raining non-stop for weeks anyway.
     

Share This Page