Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

push button Ignition??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by smprider112, Sep 2, 2004.

  1. smprider112

    smprider112 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton,Oregon
    Ok so my ignition switch is pretty craptastic ( I have to turn it slowly until it triggers the starter...just to start it) So I bought a pushbutton style Im gonna mount on the dash...now my question is how? what wires from the ignition trigger the starter? and how do I get to them? (pull the steering wheel /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif) Also Im gonna make this so u have to use the key to turn the igniton on, then just push the button to trigger the starter (so someone cant just hop in it and steal it /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif) anyways any help on this would rock /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  2. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    i'm thinking of push button also, but have a hidden kill switch, or 2 switches, located seperately, eliminate the keys all together.. lol maybe not, but something like that
     
  3. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Purple runs to the starter . It needs to momentarily touch red to work . /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    yep, plus pink needs to touch red for everything else to work and for it to fire up, but thats what the ingnition switch is for /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  5. smprider112

    smprider112 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton,Oregon
    ok so now how do I GET TOO the wires and since my button has 2 posts...one goes to purple the other to red? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  6. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    yep one to purple, the other to red. just cut them off at the switch and run them up to the button.

    the switch is mounted ontop of the column.
     
  7. four_by_ken

    four_by_ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Posts:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allenton, MI
    On my old Jeep... just put the key in the on position, then push the button that was wired directly from the batterty and from the starter. Simple. Still needed the key to make it run, but not start.
    The ignition was gummed up with mud, so it was near impossible to turn the ignition to the start position without some channel locks or something. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  8. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I run mine the same way just a hot from the battery to the switch then to the selinoid on the starter still need the key on but no messing with the wires in the column. Works every time now did it the same way on my buddies toyota.
     
  9. supersize75k5

    supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gilbert az
    I ran mine from the distibution block and to the starter, worked like a charm, dont wast time hacking a harness since you may want to undue this in the future..or the next owner /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif
     
  10. smprider112

    smprider112 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton,Oregon
    thats what I was thinkin, is just run it directly to the starter instead...but wasnt sure if that would work (plus its easier...cuz im lazy /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif)
     
  11. shane74

    shane74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    It'll work. I personally never hack into the existing wiring because you never know if you're going to have to undo anything.

    I'll tell you this though..you can pick up a brand new ign. switch with a key for about $10. You can install it in less than 1/2 hr if you have the right tools (I do /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif). If you really want to go push button, cool. If you're just wanting a cheap and easy way to fix it, then a new switch & key is my vote. I guarantee I can swap out your ign. switch faster than you can install a push button and run the wires. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  12. smprider112

    smprider112 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton,Oregon
    [ QUOTE ]
    It'll work. I personally never hack into the existing wiring because you never know if you're going to have to undo anything.

    I'll tell you this though..you can pick up a brand new ign. switch with a key for about $10. You can install it in less than 1/2 hr if you have the right tools (I do /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif). If you really want to go push button, cool. If you're just wanting a cheap and easy way to fix it, then a new switch & key is my vote. I guarantee I can swap out your ign. switch faster than you can install a push button and run the wires. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    YA SURE....NOW you tell me... /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif I allready bought the pushbutton switch for like 8 bucks /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif ohh well the "COOL" effect should be worth it /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. k5freak44

    k5freak44 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    2,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    lemem get this straight...

    pink wire to red
    tap purple wire on red?

    car goes vrooom
     
  14. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    if you want to elemanate the key altogeather put a small push botum ant the base of the stering colume and paint it black so you don't see it. i have done it on a buddys car when the ign went for a crap.
    doing it on mine when i rip out the daash. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  15. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    I have pushbutton on my K5, a momentary and two toggles, but the wipers dont work, so I guess I need another toggle.........
     
  16. js4x4

    js4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'd return the cool switch and get yer $8 back...hes right, a wheel puller and your home free (its just compressing that friggin spring and gettin the c'clip in that gives me hell) but I swapped out my entire steering column, swapped the lock/tumbler from the 'old' to the new....in a couple hours. There is a tool to compress that spring, but pft...
     

Share This Page