Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

puter people, click here if you will.......

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by gotmud?, Dec 18, 2002.

  1. gotmud?

    gotmud? 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    up north
    My sister just gave my dad her old puter, but he say's it stick's on the "start-up" screen, then has to boot in "safe mode" and it does'nt see the monitor or the cd rom drive /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif I'm going up there Sun. Where do I start?? Should I just try to RE-format the drive? Can I boot from a win 98 CD? Thank's for any help....
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Sounds like something is screwed up in the boot sector of the harddrive, me personally, I'd just format the drive and start over fresh.
     
  3. shewheeler

    shewheeler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    You can also try running scandisk after it starts in safe mode. Do the surface scan as well... or... just reformat/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  4. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Yeah, just start over. And yes you can boot from a 98 CD. It should give you the options to format the drive before an install also. "Should" be a pretty painless deal. Good luck with it. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  5. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    When it only goes into safe mode, it is either a network problem or a video problem. If you have no network, than you have a video problem.

    Good luck.
     
  6. gotmud?

    gotmud? 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    up north
    Thank's for the info. Look's like I'll just re-format. probably will be much easier than trying to trouble-shoot.
     
  7. rogerwilco71

    rogerwilco71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Posts:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central-Cal
    I'm always for a good format and reload /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Before going into safe mode, try pressing F8 at the second post screen and select command prompt (I thinks its #5), then type "scanreg/restore" (w/o qoutes) then enter.
    There you can find a previous start up that actually booted. Other than video, it can sometimes be an issue/power irregularity with the motherboard. If you hang on reloading windows (w/ clean format) it's definetly hardware related.
     
  8. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Wut you talkin' bout Willis???????
     

Share This Page