Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Putting a spool in a 12 bolt?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by odoa3, May 26, 2004.

  1. odoa3

    odoa3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    I have a worn out Eaton posi in my 12 bolt- looking to put a spool in just to tide me over until I get the 14 bolt built and installed. I called a shop to order a spool- and they told me I couldn't do this without doing away with the c-clips. Is this correct? If so why do you have get rid of the c-clips? Thanks.
     
  2. trollporter

    trollporter 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lady's Island, SC
    You can keep the C-clips with a mini-spool but a full spool requires c-clip eliminators. I installed a 12b mini-spool in a buddy's /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif last year and it's still going strong w/35 TSL's. Probaly not a good Idea to go biggerwith that much traction on a 12b.
     
  3. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    Get it welded instead. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif That is, if you don't care about resale value. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  4. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Just weld it, then save the money for the 14b /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  5. CyberSniper

    CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    [ QUOTE ]
    Get it welded instead. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif That is, if you don't care about resale value. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I've been wondering the same thing about the 12 bolt in the K5 I've got. Can you weld up a Gov-Loc? I'm assuming that's what's in it since it says G80 and it's a 79.
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Yes you can weld a gov loc, just the same as you can weld an open diff.

    I've done it before, so I know for a fact it can be done.
     
  7. odoa3

    odoa3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    How do you go about welding a posi? Weld the spider gears to the carrier- just like an open diff?
     

Share This Page