Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Q-Jet tuning

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Pugsley, Oct 6, 2001.

  1. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    I've never been much of a great carb-tuner, usually I'm content just with keeping the thing running. I'm tired of running a bit rich though, and don't have anything else on the schedule for tomorrow, so anyone got some helpful words of wisdom for undertaking this task, and doing it right? TIA for any input[​IMG]

    Of the 5 toughest dogs in the neighborhood, my cat's ranked #3
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,173
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Hook up a vacuum guage...and adjust your mixture for the highest vacuum reading. That should put you very close to ideal for your motor.

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
     
  3. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Sounds easy enough[​IMG] Maybe I can set a fuel mileage record on next weekend's road trip across the state.

    Of the 5 toughest dogs in the neighborhood, my cat's ranked #3
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,173
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Is it just rich at idle?

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
     
  5. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    As far as I can tell it's running a bit rich all around - there's been lots of soot in the tailpipes for the last couple of weeks, and it's been lacking a bit in throttle response.

    Of the 5 toughest dogs in the neighborhood, my cat's ranked #3
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,173
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Adjusting idle mixture will only affect the idle circuit (obviously)
    Float levels may be off, something could be gummed up and not moving properly...
    How's the rest of the 'consumables'? Plugs, wires, cap, rotor? If everything else is tip-top you might want to take a closer look at the Q-jet.
    If you take the cap and rotor off check the mechanical advance for stickiness. Mine was all gummed up, cleaned it up for free and gained quite a bit of performance.

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
     
  7. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Could be - the thing's probably due for a complete going over. Plugs and wires are new, Cap and rotor have about 2,000 on them. I never thought of the advance - I'll check it out, and try and clean up the carb some and see if that helps. Thanks a bunch[​IMG]

    Of the 5 toughest dogs in the neighborhood, my cat's ranked #3
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     

Share This Page