Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Quadrajet choke question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by guido666, Nov 8, 2005.

  1. guido666

    guido666 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    Now that it is getting colder, when I start my truck it will crank but not start. If I tap the gas as I let off the key it will ROAR to life. Is this a problem with my choke? Should I maybe adjust it a little more open?
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Do you tap the gas before trying to start in the first place?

    The gas pedal HAS to be depressed for the choke to be set before starting.
     
  3. guido666

    guido666 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    Yes, I do (if I remember), out of habit. So are you saying not to?
     
  4. BIG*RED

    BIG*RED 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    No he is saying you have to. Before you even crank it over, tap the gas, or just give it one pump. This sets the choke. if you don't set the choke your gonna be cranking forever to get it to start.
     
  5. guido666

    guido666 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    Ok, is it bad if you do it twice?
     
  6. BIG*RED

    BIG*RED 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bad? no not really. I have a friend who has a '72 camero and he has to pump it 3 times before he starts it.

    its only "bad" on fuel injection..you don't want to pump the gas when you start a car that has fuel injection
     
  7. guido666

    guido666 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    Ok, so assuming that I am resetting the choke, or properly pushing the pedal before starting, any other ideas?
     
  8. BIG*RED

    BIG*RED 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    no not really, its a carb. when thery are cold, they do this. I'm sure there might be a few things you could "tweek" but i'm not all that knowledgeable about carbs. maybe someone else will have some tips.
     
  9. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    No, just saying you need to.

    It is probably not adjusted quite right if it won't start like that.

    To test that it is working right, take off your air cleaner in the morning (or after it's sat for a very long time) look at the choke blade, and work the throttle from the carb. The choke blade should "snap" shut when you do this. If it doesn't, it will likely have some slack in it (not spring tension) which means it needs to be tightened up a hair.

    Gotta be careful when dealing with chokes though, all the choke linkage and what not is tied closely together, if one piece is not bent right, just tightening up the coil typically doesn't fix the problem, only shift it.
     

Share This Page