Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Quadrajet "No Fuel" Quandry.... Help?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BigBen, Jun 29, 2005.

1. BigBen

BigBen 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Ok all,

I've done some searching and cannot figure out what is wrong with my Q-jet. I'm not very experienced with carbs at all, so I may be missing something obvious here..... :crazy:

'74 K5 Blazer with a 383 and a Q-Jet.

Been running pretty well for about 1000 miles (& 2 years) since I got the new engine in and running.

Dove home the other day with no problems. I let it sit a few days before I drove it again as I have done many times before.

The other morning I went to start it and it didn't fire after cranking for quite a while. (Usually takes about 12 seconds when it's been sitting) This time I tried it for about a minute (on and off) and nothing happened.

I pulled the air cleaner and didn't notice any gas smell. In fact, I looked under the choke plate and didn't see any gas when I pushed the throttle to run the accelerator pump.

She'll start to sputter to life with some starting fluid or gas in the carb, but can't keep it going. I figure this means I have spark, but no fuel.

I pulled the fuel line off tonight and found that the pump is indeed pushing fuel through when I'm cranking. I pulled the filter (Small one on the front of the carb) and it is wet with gas. I even tried to start it without the filter with no success.

So, my fuel is being stopped somewhere after the fuel filter and before the primaries. Also this went bad all of a sudden. It wasn't gradual.

This has pushed me WAY past most of my carb knowledge.... any ideas to help me figure this out CK5 Gurus???? :confused: :confused: :confused:

Any and all help is appreciated!

-Ben

2. readymix

readymix 3/4 ton status