Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Question about boxing blazer frame

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BiggerIsBetter, May 3, 2003.

1. BiggerIsBetter

BiggerIsBetter Registered Member

I was just curious if anybody had some pics or links to a site of a boxed Blazer frame? Is it really necessary for high horepower and high torque engines (600hp, 900 ft lbs) and for hard-core wheelin? I was interested in doing this sometime in the future and was wondering how difficult it is to do. Thanks.

2. CCRider

CCRider 1/2 ton status

Here's a pic of mine [​IMG] , not a great shot of the boxing , I have more if you need them just need to get them in my member gallery , Wasn't a problem for me to do , but then again , I'm a professional fab guy for a livin' .Punched and flared holes for access to some of the nuts , and to run lines through , also welded every crossmember in , and it probably took 2/3 the flex out of the chassis!!! The top on the truck doesn't go PONG when flexing anymore with the glass top off!!! I guess that says something for boxing it in. ........................CC /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

3. TruckNutzDude

TruckNutzDude 1/2 ton status

I think you can use a piece of cardboard and a hammer to create a stencil for cutting the pieces you're going to weld onto the C-section frame. Basicly just hold the cardboard against the frame and hit it with the hammer till it crushes, then cut it out and trace that onto the metal you're using to box the frame. It doesn't sound like a really hard job to do, just time consuming. Good luck! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

4. bigjbear

bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

[ QUOTE ]