Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Question about keeping thing square when welding

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Eric M., Jul 25, 2005.

1. Eric M.

Eric M. 1/2 ton status

I'm new to this welding stuff. I've heard that metal shrinks where it's welded. I'm trying to make a square metal frame. I'm clamping it and even tacking it to the work surface before welding. After I'm done, I pull the clamps and grind the tacks and that's where things go bad. It's no longer square.

How can I prevent this or compensate for it? Do I hammer the welds before letting the clamps loose? Should I wait longer before pulling the clamps? Should I do short welds and wait between them instead of running a complete bead?

Any ideas?

By the way, this is 16 guage, 1" square tube.

Thanks,

Eric M.

2. LongIslander26

LongIslander26 1/2 ton status

Welding

Don't put too much heat in one spot for too long, and the metal shouldn't distort. There are also magnets available that are at 90 degree angles that you can use to hold the metal in place. Perhaps the metal is distorting while it's welded to the table, and that's what causing your problems, because it wants to expand with the heat and can't, because it has nowhere to go.

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Generally if I think it's going to pull I'll brace diagonally (using a square frame as an example). I'll leave the brace on until it has cooled completely. Beyond that you should look to have the 'pull' from one weld cancel out the 'pull' of the next. Weld one inside corner, then weld the diagonal opposite corner...kinda like you're torquing lug nuts.