Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

question about paint jobs

Discussion in 'The Body Shop' started by kotton, Sep 2, 2005.

1. kotton

kotton Registered Member

I have no experience with paint shops so maybe you guys can help me out. My girlfriends car has started peeling the clearcoat in a lot of places. Is it possible to have some shop wetsand the clearcoat of and just respray another one on, or will they have to take all the paint off and redo everything.

thanks

2. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

it wont need to be stripped.. but they will usually need to throw a couple coats of basecoat on, before reclearing... you can't usually just reclear it...

the minimum will usually be wetsand featheredging the bad spots then some base, then clear.. most shops will strip the clear to the basecoat, couple coats of base and clear..

3. kotton

kotton Registered Member

do you think i could get away with doing this somewhere cheap like macco since they dont need to re prep and primer it, since i heard that is their weakspot.

4. sweetk30

sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

when it comes to paint job YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR:D

5. kotton

kotton Registered Member

thats not what i wanted ot hear :mad: but its true

6. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

honestly, i wouldn't.. little bit on the "technical" side for them...