Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

question about troublecode OBDII (alpha) P CODE P1406

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jjlaughner, Jan 8, 2004.

  1. jjlaughner

    jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    this is a 97 Yukon 5.7 vortec had the check engine light come on and dad took it to autozone to get the code read and its says no parts (meaning GM/dealer item), EGR position sensor performance, number crossed : P1406 cross reference parts found : blank
    then it says TROUBLECODE OOBDII (ALPHA) P CODE

    what does this mean? get a EGR position sensor from the dealer? this is a 350 vortec motor
     
  2. jjlaughner

    jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  3. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    jj,
    I have the machine that they use at Autozone, it is a OBDII AutoScanner CP9135. The tech support number is 1-800-228-7667 8:00 - 6:00 EST mon - fri or email them at tech_support@actron.com The machine is made by actron. I know this is not the answer you are looking for but maybe it will help. I will keep reading my manual and see if I can get something more definative for you.

    John
     
  4. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    jj,

    that email is supposed to have an understrike that did not show up because for some reason it is underlined. The first part should read tech_support

    John
     
  5. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I just got an interface from here to read OBDII codes on my laptop and from everything I read yes you need a new one or if it looks like you can service it it may need cleaned, but they are usually not serviceable. I would have them (autozone) clear the code then run the truck around to see if it wasn't just a one time deal if the truck isn't acting funny. Sometimes the Egr will stick and the first bump come loose and work fine but you still get a code.
     
  6. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Autozone will not clear codes.

    John
     
  7. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    Well that sucks they have the machine all you do is push a button, Hell I never knew thay checked codes anyway.
     
  8. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I agree, that is why I bought the machine. They said they used to but people selling cars come in and have the codes reset, people buy the car and 40 miles later the light is on. They said it is their policy not a law.... Checkers is the same way.

    John
     
  9. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    Makes sense, Did I say that a car parts place making sense.
     

Share This Page