Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Question for aircraft mechanics

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by bigjbear, May 8, 2004.

1. bigjbear

bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

This question doesn’t really apply to you guys in the military, no offense but you don’t need a license for what you do. How did you get your A&P? Did you go through a school or was it OJT? I’ve been an avionics technician for about a dozen years, but the way things are currently going it looks like I need to get an A&P if I want to stay in this line of work and get paid a decent wage. After I got laid off I started going to an A&P school and so far I haven’t learned much that I couldn’t have gotten by reading a book. OTOH, I’ve only be at it for just over a month so I’m hopeful that this will improve shortly. We have begun doing more practical work already, but it seems we have some people in the class that are more interested in being disruptive or sleeping than in learning. The sleepers wouldn’t bother me but when they wake up they want everything retaught. I am wondering if I would be better off doing volunteer work at a small air field and then studying on my own and taking the test. The school is expensive but I consider it an investment in my future. Also, My G.I. Bill pays a good part of the tuition. Right now I plan on continuing w/ the school because I haven’t been impressed by some work I’ve seen in general aviation hangers that allow guys to OJT. I really want to get this right because I plan to say in aviation for a long time. Thanks guys.

2. landsmasher

landsmasher 1/2 ton status