Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Question for all of you running TPI on your rigs

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by K5BLT4FUN, Nov 30, 2003.

  1. K5BLT4FUN

    K5BLT4FUN 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Posts:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peculiar, MO USA
    For those of you running TPI on your rigs. What system are you running, Speed Density or Mass Air Flow? I am planning a winter project and I am trying to gather as much information as possible.
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    I can help you a little on this. Most people go with the speed density system because it is a little easier to deal with since you don't have a MAF sensor to mount in the air intake system somewhere. However the MAF system is much friendlier with larger cam swaps. I used to run a TPI that was a speed density system and I was very happy with it. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    Next year I am going to be building a 383 stroker and going with a speed density TPI system again.
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Mine is a MAF system, simply because that's all that was available when I did the conversion. I swapped in an '87 'vette engine in early '89. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     
  4. K5BLT4FUN

    K5BLT4FUN 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Posts:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peculiar, MO USA
    Have you had any problems with the MAF sensor breaking while wheeling. Caused either by water or debris entering the airflow or by just the jarring it takes offroading. I have a MAF system, but I am not sure if I may convert it to Speed Density.
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The MAF even survived having enough water sucked through it to grenade the block. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif That little wire is much tougher than it looks. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  6. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <font color="blue">I have a MAP setup, it was a very clean and easy instal. FYI you can run big cams on a MAP system, you just need someone whos good with PROMs
     
  7. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    You can only go so far with a MAP system since it uses a vacuum source. Big cams reduce engine vacuum and it doesn't matter how good the guy is that programs proms he cannot bring back engine vacuum within the prom.
     
  8. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    My 406 had MAP............there was a rumor on thirdgen a while back that you can use a special MAP sensor to allow a bigger cam but it may be BS. Kind of interesting that the FI motors of today all use MAF...........wonder why that is for a stock motor? Must be new technology has improved the MAF sensors.............
     
  9. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I am swapping right now and I am going to go with the MAF setup. I am running it because that is the system I bought. I have been told that SD is possibly more reliable because of the lack of the MAF wire, but I haven't heard of any problems as of yet with that. I will eventually convert to SD but that won't be until I get my next motor built so I know exactly how to build it and what is in it. I want to build the next motor around the TPI system so I can get some sick power. I will probably go with the Vortec TPI base so I can run Vortec heads on the next motor.
     
  10. KRAZIE87K5

    KRAZIE87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    whats up Layne? The ol TBI just isnt doing it for you anymore? TPI is far more complex and spendy than a TBI setup, I'm sure folks out here can agree on that. Just remember, KISS! /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    -Dan
     
  11. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Actually, the only difference is 8 injectors vs. 2.........and I think one more sensor (the intake air temp in the plenum). Other than that, all the same. /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    Dan, not trying to argue, just that it is really no more complex than any FI system.
     
  12. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    One point on your comment about 'sick power' /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif - with the stock plenum and runners you really won't get as much out of it as you could if you put a better breathing top end on it - such as the LT1 intake, or (forgive me if I get these names wrong) Super Ram or whatever the high flow bolt on replacement is for TPI. TPI motors build outstanding torque but will generally run out of air at around 4800 rpm...........my 406 had all kinds of low end power (could light up 35" SSR's with a Detroit out back from a dead stop by just punching the gas /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif) but didn't want to rev over 5K. /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    By the way, what lb/hr injectors are you running?
     
  13. MilpitasK5

    MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Posts:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, Ca.
    [ QUOTE ]
    Next year I am going to be building a 383 stroker and going with a speed density TPI system again.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Can I have your existing engine dude?!! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    *sorry for the highjack*
     
  14. KRAZIE87K5

    KRAZIE87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    [ QUOTE ]
    just that it is really no more complex than any FI system.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    What about the MAF or speed density sensor? Not to mention its cost? Thats a part you can not even buy at Autozone (off the shelf) AFAIK...

    Again, I'll repeat:

    #1. K.I.S.S.!!!
    #2. IT COSTS MORE MONEY!!!

    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    -Dan
     
  15. Triaged

    Triaged 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Posts:
    3,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA (LA/OC area)
    TBI's are speed density. They use a MAP sensor just like a TPI setup.
     
  16. K5BLT4FUN

    K5BLT4FUN 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Posts:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peculiar, MO USA
    Dan,

    I purchased a MAF TPI last year and I am considering installing it to gain some low end torque, hopefully. I am also hoping that it will improve my fuel economy a little. What little information I have read so far says the stock runner setup will get me the low end torque I am looking for. The other reason I am considering it, is the possiblity of building a 383 someday and I what the added flexibility for adding different cams, heads, and exhaust. I am however still just in the information stage of the swap. I may just continue to run the TBI and as you put it KISS. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  17. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Ya, I know they don't like to go above 4800, but I don't really rev beyond that anyway. I am also looking into TPIS runners, larger throttle body, and possibly different plenum for the next motor. The runners I will likely do because they increase torque but the rest I will see when that motor gets built. If it doesn't need it then I probably won't use it.
     
  18. Shagnaz

    Shagnaz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina, North Charleston
    Are you looking for a TPI set up? I have one coming up forsale.
    PM me.
    Thanks
    Mike B
     
  19. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I'd stay away from the Vortec heads for a TPI swap. The Vortec TPI base is way too expensive when you can get other heads that are just as good or better for the same price, and don't require a $400 intake that requires a custom EGR setup, if you intend to run it.
     
  20. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I haven't looked into all the Vortec stuff yet, but if it is that expensive then I will probably just go with a World Products head or a AR head. Both those should build some good power for my next motor. This motor is a ways down the line so I have plenty of time to research and plan (hopefully).

    Harley
     

Share This Page