Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Question for the computer literate among us

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by 4by4bygod, Aug 16, 2004.

  1. 4by4bygod

    4by4bygod 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Posts:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    With My Tinfoil Hat
    Hi All!
    My computer doesn't want to boot up anymore. when I turn it on, I get an error message that states : 3com PXE version (blah blah blah), and the next line reads : PXE -E61 media test failure - check cable, PXE MOF: exiting PXE.

    After a few moments, the message repeats. What the heck cable is it talking about, and what is a PXE?

    I'm running windows 2000 on a machine I picked up at an auction, which was used commercially and connected to a network at one time.. could a network card or device be causing the prob? Thanks for any ideas. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

    Tom /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    sorry bud, no help here . I'm severely mouse impaired. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  3. 1-ton

    1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    You may have a dead hard drive. The message you are getting is indicating that it is trying to boot from the computers Network Interface Card (NIC) because it cannot find the hard drive, which happens when a hard drive dies.

    When a computer cannot find an operating system to boot from, such as on the hard drive or a boot floppy in the "A" drive, then it will try to boot from the NIC card, if it is PXE boot compatible, which most are these days.
     
  4. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
  5. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    It does sound like it's trying to boot from a network. What you need to do is make it try to boot from the hard drive. What you need to do is get into the CMOS when the system first turns on and look for a setting that says 'boot device'. Simply change the setting to hard drive. In order to get into the CMOS when, when it first turns on hit one of these keys ESC, F1, F2, DEL. One of those should get you into the CMOS depending on what motherboard you have. Good luck. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. 4by4bygod

    4by4bygod 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Posts:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    With My Tinfoil Hat
    Thanks for the responses.. I'll give 'em a try and let ya know what happens.

    Tom /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     

Share This Page