Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Question on steering arm studs

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Yukon Jack, Mar 11, 2006.

  1. Yukon Jack

    Yukon Jack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Posts:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rose Hill, KS
    When I pulled the original steering arm it was a bear and ended up damaging two of the three studs that attach the steering arm. When I install the new studs I know I need to use thread locker on the threads. Do I just get the studs in finger tight then install the steering arm and then torque the nuts or do I need to use double nuts on the studs to tighten them down good and tight, remove the double nuts, then install the steering arm and torque? :confused:
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    I'd install the studs with the double nut method, that way you can physically see that the studs are ALL THE WAY DOWN and tight.
     
  3. 70jimmy

    70jimmy 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Posts:
    5,962
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Released from Pueblo, told I belong in Southpark
    Yep double nut method, thats what I did and then I used a thin vise grip on the unthreaded part and a wrench to hold the bottom nut while I backed the top one off so that I was sure that I wasn't backing the stud out.
     
  4. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    Tighten the hell out of them before you put the arm on. Also, don't forget to clean out the holes first.
     
  5. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,032
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    double nut for sure. Also, you might wanna get your new studs from ARP (I got my arps via ORD...). They are pretty much the best studs you can get and aren't exceptionally expensive.

    j
     
  6. Yukon Jack

    Yukon Jack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Posts:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rose Hill, KS
    Thanks for steering me straight, jeez, I just did a HotRod TV pun :eek1: :haha:

    I bought the studs from GM a while back, so I'll just throw those in. Thanks for the advice :bow:
     
  7. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    a stud installer works GREAT.... ;)
     

Share This Page