Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Question - Swap just the rear quarters or the whole rear?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by grimjaw, Apr 10, 2005.

1. grimjaw

grimjaw 1/2 ton status

I tried posting this in the Body Shop but got no replies after a week. Man its dead in there.

I have a 85 K5 parts truck that has a good body. I plan on swapping the front clip to my 79. The rear qurater panels on the 79 were also chopped badly by the PO. The 85 has good rear quarters and rear floor. Would it be easier to swap the entire rear or just the side panels?

I have never done this before but it seems pretty straight forward. Is there some place to see where the seams are? Diagrams or pictures would be great. The area around the B pillar is a bit confusing. Thanks.

2. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

hmmm, i never saw it...

swapping tubs would be easiest...

3. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author

Take a really close look at ALL of the places that the sides are welded to other parts. It is a real PITA to swap a side panel.

But... Somewhere along the way, GM changed the floor so that the rear seat passengers could actually have some leg room. To accomodate the change, they also had to change the frame slightly. I'm sure that the '79 has the all-flat rear floor. I can't recall the exact year that they made the change, but that '85 may have the "more legroom" rear floor. If so, that will make swapping the tubs more of a challenge. :(

4. 1979jimmy350

1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

77 was the year that they changed the floor so a 79 will have the footwell for the rear passangers

5. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author